Skip to content

bay area art alliance festival

November 5, 2011
tags: ,
by

I attended an arts and crafts festival today in Nassau Bay, Texas, the quiet suburban community where I grew up.  The art alliance is housed in a large old building that once upon a time, was a bank.

On a June day in 1969, my parents walked into that bank and applied for a mortgage to buy the house where I grew up.  This is that house today.

The trees sure are a lot bigger than they were when I was 8 years old.  I would help my dad replace the mantles in the front yard gas lantern.  He probably let me help because I had little hands.

OK enough nostalgia.  I went to the art show to see if it was a venue that   >>>maybe<<<   I might consider   >>>if<<<   I ever gather the courage to become a craft merchant.  And the answer to that question is a resounding maybe. 

I loved some aspects of the venue, but there did not seem to be a lot of buyers and the merchant spaces were not all conducive to potential customer traffic.  Some spots were great and others just downright awful.

One of the artists was Susan Freeman.  She creates pieces under the name Metal Mercy.  And I swiftly made a few purchases for possible Christmas gift giving.  Susan uses found objects to make lovely and inspired crosses.  She attaches a verse from the Bible to each work, a verse that resonates for her while she is making her art.

Oh!  And I saw a fabulously cute-cute-cute and creative way to display merchandise.

But I didn’t take a picture, so let’s visualize together.  First take a lampshade from a second hand lamp and remove the fabric shade.  You’ll have something like this.

Next, wrap the metal with strips of muslin or other fabric.  Then adorn it with your necklaces, earrings or other small products.  Adorable!  Really.  It was adorable.

Not to change the subject, but the Thanksgiving progressive dinner potluck is still in progress.  Yes, it is!  Today, Laura at White Spray Paint is sharing a recipe that has been a family favorite for several generations and tomorrow, Tracey at Frugal Luxuries is sharing one of her very favorite recipes, perfect for Thanksgiving or nearly any time of year.  You’re definitely invited, it’s a come-as-you-are affair.

Thank you for dropping by, and if you have any advice pertaining to the transition from home-crafter to merchant-crafter, please please share your pearls of wisdom. 

Hope you’re having a fabulously wonderful fall weekend🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 12:20 am

    As I was reading the first part of this post, I couldn’t help but remember when I first moved back east and revisited the house I grew up in out in the burbs.

    I too felt so nostalgic; noticing how the trees were a lot bigger, and what it felt like back THEN and NOW.

    Btw, NICE house you grew up in!

    LOVE the art pieces from Metal Mercy. VERY original! I really like the element of metal, therefore these pieces really caught my eye! And it’s ironic, because I collect crosses and have them all around my apartment.

    And what a great idea about becoming a merchant-crafter, Diane!

    I can definitely see you doing this. Another one of my blogging friends is a jewerly and greeting card crafter and has her own Esty Shop. Also, she attends a lot of craft shows; selling her goods.

    Hope you had a lovely Saturday, my friend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. November 6, 2011 4:18 am

    So nice to see a pic of the home you grew up in! I have some contact info on someone you may want to talk to about the transition you’re considering. If I don’t get that to you, remind me.😉

  3. November 6, 2011 7:46 pm

    To paraphrase Steven St. Vincent~Benet, “the trees were old trees…trees that remembered your father’s name”! The quote immediately came to my mind as I was reading this post Diane, and looking at your childhood home. What wonderful memories, you are so lucky to have them and the place itself to visit. We were a military family and moved 11 times before I was in the sixth grade (when we finally settled, YAY,😉. I do love that you are looking for a venue for your art, you do have a gift.

    Love,
    Tracey
    x0x
    P.S. Thanks so much for the link!🙂

  4. November 6, 2011 7:48 pm

    Ps 37:23-24
    We all stumble – all those experiences good and bad make us the beautiful creatures we are.

    Gorgeous–she does beautiful things and carries the message well.

    I don’t ‘sell’ what I craft–it gets handed to others in hopes they enjoy, so no help whatsoever in the sellers tips. (I did find the lampshade display idea fun, though!)

    Going ‘back’ to what once was my home was a strange experience. Not bad….just strange.
    I hope your trip was enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

