Skip to content

surprise arrival

October 17, 2011
tags: ,
by

The thing about shopping at Round Top (and other large-scale antiques markets) is the chance to find something unexpected.  Surprising and grand.

That’s what happened when we found this astonishing clock cabinet (price tag is a leftover relic from a previous post, sorry!)

Bart Debrock is the merchant from whom we bought this pretty cabinet.  He had a wonderful inventory collection and while we were shopping, Cristybella fell in love with a vintage surveyor’s elevation measuring tool.  It’s a Dietzgen 6500.

She said “no, let’s not get it,” so of course I purchased it on the down-low while she wasn’t looking and made a hasty arrangement with Mr. Debrock to retrieve it from him a couple of week later, when he was planning to make a scheduled delivery of goods to an antiques retailer in Houston.

I picked it up just the other day, as a surprise for Cristy.

Isn’t it just very interesting?!

It’s also very long.  And narrow.  A tricky combination for placement.  We chose to place it vertically, since that is how the tool is meant to be used.

And we selected our guest room-office, because of the room’s modest size.

Much easier to see the implement in here.

 

For the two of us, who adore numbers so profoundly, this is a perfect accessory.  One we never expected to find.  And therein lies the beauty of Round Top.

Thank you so much for visiting, your company brings me such joy!

.

.

.

sharing with
Share the Love at Very Merry Vintage Style
Open House at No Minimalist Here
10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 1:37 am

    Diane, I’m LOVIN’ that clock cabinet so much, I could SCREAM!

    I’ve never seen anything like it. How INGENIOUSLY clever! The color is awesome too!

    Love the vintage surveyor’s elevation measuring tool as well! And I bet Cristy was so touched by your thoughtful gesture.

    I like how you hung it up. It goes so well in your lovely home!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend. Hope you had a glorious weekend!

    X to you and C!

  2. October 17, 2011 6:29 am

    I’m so jealous! I wish we had a large scale antique store around here! Perhaps we do, and I’m unaware {which could very well be the case!} You are so sweet to snatch it up as a surprise.

    I love the pic you took focused in on the number 5- too neat! and how you displayed it – so creative! You definately have a knack for taking unusual items and working them into your home decor like they were meant to be there.

  3. October 17, 2011 12:18 pm

    Awwwwwww…….that was so sweet!

    And cool.
    Wayyyyyy cool.

    I love rummaging around in antiquey places. I always fall in love with something that has to come home with me.
    I’m a sucker for a jar of buttons.

    Gotta love that cabinet. Perfect against the wall with the clocks!

  4. October 17, 2011 5:19 pm

    If you weren’t so nice I would have to hate you just a wee bit.🙂 Love the clock especially. Lucky lucky you. Can’t wait to see how you use it.
    PR

  5. October 19, 2011 3:45 am

    Oh it’s just gorgeous!!!
    XO
    Kristin

  6. October 19, 2011 10:50 pm

    Oooo, I really like that. Great find!!

  7. October 19, 2011 11:09 pm

    What a great find! I am oh so jealous!!

  8. October 20, 2011 5:22 am

    I am in LOVE with the measuring tool! I hoard rulers of any kind!

    I hope you’ll link up to Knick of Time Tuesday with your wonderful vintage finds!

    Angie @ Knick of Time Interiors
    http://knickoftimeinteriors@blogspot.com

  9. October 20, 2011 5:32 pm

    I am so envious of you gals that are close to Round Top! Love the clock cabinet and the surveyor’s tool. Thank you for linking to the Open House Party.
    Hugs,
    Sherry

  10. November 2, 2011 4:09 pm

    That is just the coolest thing! And how fun that you could surprise Cristy with it! Just awesome!

Leave a Reply

