Skip to content

dismantling

September 23, 2011

This building stands next door to the building where I work.  Designed by Houston architect Kenneth Franzheim, it dates to the early 1950s and was originally known as the Prudential Building.   According to the few sources I have referenced, it was the second official sky scraper in the Houston landscape.

In the not too distant future, this building will be demolished.  It is already being dismantled.  The white Texas limestone exterior is being removed leaving the skeletal frame exposed.

giving it a bit of a haunted house look.

Sort of apropos, leading into the season of All Hallow’s Eve.

Thank you for reading :)  I appreciate your company!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 5:02 am

    Though empathetic for the buildings destruction, my initial thoughts went to “hmmm…wonder what they are going to do with all that limestone?” It’s always sad to see seemingly iconic places torn down. When I see things like that I keep telling myself ‘I’m sure there’s a good reason for it…’ I still don’t believe it though.😉

    Carrie

  2. September 23, 2011 2:07 pm

    It looks as if it was a sturdy building. Wonder why it has to come down.

  3. September 23, 2011 3:00 pm

    Aw, shucks….how sad.

    And what a lovely-looking building.

    I remember when I lived in NYC (back in the late 70s- early 80’s) at a time when they demolished a few of the vintage, historical theaters. Broke my heart.

    Have a fantabulous weekend, my dear sweet friend!

    X to you and C!

  4. Mel permalink
    September 24, 2011 12:32 am

    Okay……you’re right! It’s kinda got that spooky look to it as it’s coming down. But gosh……what a lovely one to begin with.
    I don’t get it. Woulda made a great housing development for folks in need.
    😦

  5. September 24, 2011 2:10 pm

    Yes, it’s definitely now looking a bit eerie. Wonder why it’s being demolished.
    I love the time around Halloween!

Leave a Reply

