Skip to content

furniture painting ~ a preview

September 20, 2011

There are a lot of astonishingly talented bloggers that transform dated, even cast-off quality furniture, into a vision of beauty, equipped only with their imagination and a paintbrush.  I do not exactly walk in their midst.

Just over a year ago, I spied this fantastically lovely piece of painted furniture at Erin’s House of Turquoise.

So nice, isn’t it?  And that image has stayed with me, finding reason to surface in my consciousness recently when I moved this secretary from the dining room to the bedroom.

Hmmm.  Where to begin?

That piece of furniture has logged a few miles, accompaying my sweet Cristybella to Costa Rica and back.   It has been part of 4 family households, that we know of.  I figured at least I could try something to show some love and  remembered the beautiful white and blue cupboard of my dreams. In my head, it seemed like it could work.  So I bought the wood filler, primer and paint.

There were a few bumps in the road this past Saturday, culminating with the furniture crashing (yes, crashing) forward onto a tile floor.  Miraculously, nothing broke. 

All I can offer is a sneak peek, because it’s just not done.  Takes me longer than the average bear (3 bonus points for anyone that correctly identified that reference to Yogi Bear). 

Publishing a progress post gives me a small sense of accomplishment, even though there is still plenty of work remaining.

Thank you for reading – hope you are having a wonderful week!

.

.

.

Sharing with
One Project at a Time at A Bowl Full of Lemons
Nifty Thrifty Tuesday at Coastal Charm
14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 4:02 am

    Loooooooks intriguing. Can’t wait to see the finished product.
    Pam

  2. September 20, 2011 4:18 am

    Glad that nothing broke! The sneak peak is quite interesting… I think it will be fabulous when finished. Now I’ll have to remember to stop back and see the progress! 🙂

    ~ visiting from Vent!

  3. September 20, 2011 6:13 am

    Love, love, love that piece! Boasting with character, and the stories you know about it – so neat! Sad to admit, but that piece of furniture is a more seasoned international traveler than I am.😉 Can’t wait to see it after you’ve given it some TLC!
    Carrie

  4. September 20, 2011 8:08 am

    ooh i cant wait to see it all finished

  5. September 20, 2011 12:16 pm

    I love your inspiration piece, sometimes it takes years before we become motivated enough to make it our own. I can’t wait to see it finished I know it will be absolutely STUNNING!

  6. September 20, 2011 1:49 pm

    I can’t wait to see it! The shape and details are wonderful…so I invision a beauty in white.

  7. September 20, 2011 2:44 pm

    Diane, I can so totally see WHY that first photo stayed with you because that piece of furniture is AWESOME!!!

    Love the distressed look of it. And also that it looks like a combo desk/kitchen cabinet.

    I can’t WAIT to see what marvelous things you do with your secretary.

    The style is gorgeous!

    Have a great day, dear friend!

    X to you and C!

  8. September 20, 2011 3:54 pm

    You are such a tease! Can’t wait to see the finished project! Just realized you are a Texas Blogger. Me too.

  9. September 20, 2011 4:24 pm

    mmmmm. lovely.

    i love white furniture! I have a beat up desk from craigslist i’m dying to tackle, but i’ve never done furniture before so we’ll see ;/

  10. September 20, 2011 6:09 pm

    I can almost visualise the finished product. I just know it will be lovely.

  11. September 20, 2011 9:53 pm

    I’m looking so forward to seeing your final transformation Diane! The inspiration image is one of my favorites as well.🙂
    Love,
    Tracey
    x0x

  12. September 21, 2011 2:29 am

    I can tell, just from the sneak peek, that it’s going to be beautiful! How lucky that nothing broke!

  13. September 26, 2011 10:02 pm

    I earned my bonus points today!

    I’m sure this looks amazing, after seeing your inspiration piece.

Trackbacks

  1. refreshingly new again « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

