Skip to content

3 reasons to clean the closet

September 16, 2011
tags: ,
by

When I got home from work yesterday these pretty lovelies were sitting on the kitchen table.  Even now, they’re sitting nearby within my line of vision.  I heart them.

Cristy found them in a box in a closet while she was looking for … I don’t know … something.  And she came up with these!

They belonged to her late aunt, who worked at this typesetting printing company in the 1960s.  In Fort Worth, Texas.

Does anyone besides me know what this crazy alpha-numeric code is?

If you were alive in the 1960s, you might recall that it is a telephone number. 

Besides these 3 reasons for cleaning the closet, there’s always that other reason … ending up with a clean closet.  Yeah, I know, it’s a bit overrated.

.

.

.

Sharing with
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Sunday Showcase at Under the Table and Dreaming by Stephanie Lynn
Sister Sunday at Sisters of the Wild West
Tickled Pink at 504 Main
Potpourri at 2805
Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring
19 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 1:30 am

    Wow…..rulers!

    “Does anyone besides me know what this crazy alpha-numeric code is?

    If you were alive in the 1960s, you might recall that it is a telephone number.”

    HA! OMG….that’s right! And as soon as you mentioned that, I immediately remembered my family’s phone number waaaaaaaaaay back in the 60’s. It was OS 5-3216. (the OS stood for Osbourne).

    Cool post, Diane! Enjoyed it. Isn’t it amazing the treasures you find deep within a closet?

    Hope you had a terrific Thursday!

    X to you and C!

    • September 16, 2011 3:13 am

      Isn’t it crazy you can remember that? Me too. My mommy drilled it into my brain and it’s stuck. DUpont 1-2980.

  2. September 16, 2011 2:06 am

    So funny, my phone number began with FE, but that’s all I remember🙂 And your right, those are some great reasons to clean out a closet!

  3. September 16, 2011 7:26 am

    they are gorgeous, love finding old treasures!

  4. September 16, 2011 11:37 am

    I LOVE those rulers! I’ve been wanting some to do some kind of project on but they’re actually really hard to get hold of over in England. You lucky thing!

    Sarahx

  5. September 16, 2011 1:07 pm

    I came by from Ron’s to tell you how fantastic all the lines and angles are in your Marina photo and what do I find!? More wonderful lines

    I love how beautiful you made these rulers

    well done🙂

  6. September 16, 2011 1:42 pm

    I liked your picture, too, Dianne. Came direct from Ron’s to tell you that … and to bring you a biscuit. It was the least i could do for making you feel hungry over at mine.

    We had phone numbers like that in the old days. Actually it helped me to remember telephone numbers better than the all figure ones.

  7. September 16, 2011 1:56 pm

    Just popped over to say I like your picture ‘Sunset at the Marina’ over at Ron’s.🙂

  8. September 16, 2011 3:51 pm

    What a cool find! Wooden rulers! I loved the pic from Ron’s post. The bird flying in the background really captured my fancy!

  9. September 16, 2011 9:43 pm

    Those are great! Now I really want to know what you’re going to do with them!
    Clean closets? Do people really have those?

  10. Mel permalink
    September 16, 2011 9:59 pm

    Holy moly…I come by via Ron’s to thank you for sharing an awesome photo and LOOK!! MORE awesome photos!

    And yeahyeahyeah….I remember phone numbers with letters attached to ’em….cuz someone told me. k….that might be a lie. LOL
    Oh, but I adore the rulers!! And that you have a clean closet!
    k……might be envious of the clean closet deal……

  11. September 17, 2011 12:03 am

    I adore the rulers and wish I could find a box full! What a terrific find. If I knew the alpha numeric code it might date me! Another reason to clean the closet….your MIL is coming for a visit!

    Thank you so much for linking to Potpourri Friday. You make the party more fun and I appreciate you!

  12. Ellen permalink
    September 18, 2011 12:16 am

    Oh what a nice find. And yes I remember we had a prefix also PL….and SW Wow flashback from the past…..how sweet. Thank you for the trip down memory lane.
    Hugs,
    Ellen

  13. September 18, 2011 3:37 am

    Oh, I heart them, too! What a lucky find.

  14. September 18, 2011 5:54 am

    LOVE THE YARDSTICKS BUT I DONT HAVE ANYTHING LIKE THAT IN MY CLOSETS!

  15. September 19, 2011 1:29 am

    Love them! I have two rulers – one was my mom’s from secretarial school (mid-50s) and the other was from my paternal grandfather’s furniture store. Has a 4 digit phone number.

    Dropping by from Met Monday.

    Allison
    Atticmag
    Vintage Gumwood Cabinet Kitchen

  16. September 19, 2011 3:01 am

    Oh that is positively splendid! I just shared it on facebook and would be more than thrilled to find such loveliness! I would be inspired to clean more!

  17. September 19, 2011 7:43 pm

    Love the rulers. Excellent score! liz @ designing domesticity

  18. September 20, 2011 11:06 pm

    very cool rulers. i heart vintage rulers too. and yes, i do know that’s a phone number. mine was GL for glenview. my mom still has the number, of course the alpha has been replaced with numbers. found you via sisters of the wild west.
    judi

Leave a Reply

