Skip to content

joining Roomspiration [living rooms at View Along the Way]

September 14, 2011

Blogging collaboration is a fascinating process for me.  As I join in and meet the other linky partiers, new ideas start pouring in.  And today will be another one of those opportunities.  View Along the Way is hosting a look at living rooms.

This house happens to have two living rooms, the large one in the back and a smaller in the front, adjacent to the dining room.  Since it’s small, we call it the parlor.

I highlighted this room fairly recently, after I found that wonderful antique swan decoy resting atop the china hutch. 

One of the accessories in this room perplexes me.  It’s this:

an inexpensive brass tray on the china hutch holding a Limoges coffee pot and a little coffee cup.

I wish it was silver plated.  But it isn’t.  Dare I use this?

has anyone ever been successful in changing the finish to something that looked silver-ish?

The reason I ask, is that I have this entire quart of paint left over from my previous mirror-frame-painting project.  So before the paint deteriorates, it would be nice to put it to use.  Any feedback at all appreciated.

On to the actual living room.  Just down the front hallway a bit.

As I’ve mentioned before, decorating the house has been entirely haphazard.  Almost all the pieces of furniture came from previous households and are now combined in new ways.

And we’ve added plenty of seashore accessories here, as in all the rooms of the house.

 

 

The baguette tray holding the seashells is resting over an antique silk obi that I’m using as a table cover-up for our inexpensive coffee table.  It’s knotted on each end because it is too long for the table. 

However, the brass question presents itself in this room too, in the form of a few old candlesticks.

In all honesty, I’d probably only paint the one on the left.  The other two are old.  At least as old as me.  I don’t have the fortitude to modify them just now.  But I wonder if that precious metals paint would offer good results on that large candlestick (and its mate)?

It’s been fun having visitors.  I truly appreciate your company and hope you continue to follow the Roomspiration party for the rest of the month – there is so much more in store🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 1:59 am

    Diane, I am SO loving this Roomspiration series!

    Gorgeous photographs, girl! They look like they came out of a magazine.

    And need I even say how much I adore your sense of style?

    I love all the little touches of ‘treasures’ you have displayed throughout both these living rooms.

    Makes me wanna grab a cup of hot tea and book, and curl up on that sofa on a rainy day, and just relax.

    That’s the perfect word description of what your home makes me feel.

    Relaxed.

    Hope you had a great day, dear friend.

    X to you and C!

  2. September 14, 2011 3:43 pm

    You have a gorgeous living room Diane. I love how you have combine all of the furniture. What did you use for your gallery wall to the left in the 4th photo. The colors and graphics really stand out, but I can’t tell what you used. So happy I found you via Roomspiration.

  3. September 14, 2011 7:28 pm

    Wow! That entire mantle wall is just stunning. I love the art above the fireplace!

    You’re so right about blogger collaboration. I love how supportive other bloggers are in this niche, and it’s always SO fun to find new fantastic blogs (like yours!). Thanks so much for linking up to the roomspiration party today!

  4. September 15, 2011 2:40 pm

    Diane your home is STUNNING I keep scrolling back up to the top and checking it out again. Everything is so well put together, I love the gallery wall above the sofa table, can I have a closer look? I love how the tv is hidden away too. You have a beautiful space.

  5. September 16, 2011 9:44 pm

    You have such a beautiful home!
    I’d try Looking Glass spray paint on those brass pieces. I’ve seen trophies sprayed with that, and it’s a surprisingly realistic silver finish.

Leave a Reply

