Skip to content

wishing summer could last forever

August 21, 2011

the scorching summer is taking its toll on the garden and while I’m trying to cut back the drastically overgrown zinnia stems, the plants are still producing blooms.  This little posie landed on the bathroom counter on one of my grandmother’s luncheon plates.

and today, we took a daytrip to the shore.  first trip there this summer as a matter of fact.  somehow we just didn’t  get around to it before but we knew the coast would be waiting for us.  and it was.

and this little fellow kept us company for a while, taking a sentry post near our beach umbrella.

he did a lot of scratching with his beak and rubbing his head against his body to scratch his neck.

and he watched us watching him.

And on the drive home, we reflected that summer is nearly over.  And this year, as hot as it is, I’m truly not ready.  I’d be perfectly happy to push back fall another 3 months.  The days have exited as quickly as the constant stream of freighters leaving  the port.  Bon voyage, as it were.

Hope your weekend has been memorable :)  Thank you so much for dropping by!

.

.

Sharing with
Hodgepodge Friday at It’s a Hodgepodge Life
Workshop Wednesday at Goodbye City, Hello Suburbs
Summer Loving at Modern Country Style
Sister Sunday at Sisters of the Wild West
Nifty Thrifty Sunday at Nifty Thrifty Things
Sunday Showcase at Under the Table and Dreaming by Stephanie Lynn
Weekend Soiree at Homemaker in Heels
Social Saturday at Day and Age Design
8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 4:32 am

    I agree, the time has simply flown by. We have actually had a very mild summer here in CA, so it almost seems as if we didn’t have much of a summer time. Love your pictures of the pelican! The colors are so peaceful. Thanks for sharing!

  2. August 21, 2011 2:05 pm

    I live in West Texas and am so sick of burning hot days and nights and NO RAINS…we are in such a drought. I can not wait for fall and winter. Winter is my favorite season and I sure am looking forward to it.🙂
    The summer HAS gone by quickly. All my grands start back to school Monday. Wow…
    xo bj

  3. August 21, 2011 3:17 pm

    Ironic you spoke of the heat in Texas because I was just talking to a dear friend of mine on the phone last night who use to live in San Antonio, and she was saying that her family is soooo wishing for some rain.

    LOVE that first shot, Diane! Bellissima! It looks like a photo from a magazine. So talented you are with the camera.

    And I adore the shots of the pelican too. Reminded me of my years in Florida; spending time at the beach.

    Isn’t it something how fast this summer flew by?

    But you know me….I can’t wait for fall and winter.

    I know, I’m sick – HA!

    Have a super Sunday, my friend.

    X to you and Cristybella!

  4. Debbie & Angela permalink
    August 21, 2011 8:01 pm

    Those pictures make me want to go to the beach. I think I will,swim,walk,people watch,& enjoy. We all need a break now and then. Thanks for reminding me! LOL

    http://trescherechattel.blogspot.com/

  5. August 22, 2011 10:15 pm

    Summer is almost over. It’s starting to feel like fall in the mornings here. I’m not at all ready. We’ve only had about 8 weeks of summer.
    I love that shot of the yellow flowers. Beautiful!
    And now I really want to go to the beach, too. Is that a pelican? I thought they were all white~they are here, anyway!

  6. August 23, 2011 12:18 pm

    Oh I agree about pushing fall back three months. I am just starting to melt/warm up after last winter. Enjoying the scorching sun in between the rain we are having in NY. Those beach shots are fantastic and I can’t believe how close you are to the pelican. You can see his little feather… to neat!

  7. August 24, 2011 2:33 pm

    Hello lovely,

    The end of August is a funny old time, isn’t it? Not quite Autumn but the end of summer is definitely in the air. I don’t feel ready quite yet…but English September’s are often a very welcome extension to summer – mild and warm and golden. Lovely!

    Thank you so much for linking up today to my Summer Loving party.

    Sarahx

  8. August 24, 2011 2:39 pm

    Lovely summer loving post! I feel the same way. There’s never enough of summer to go around.

Leave a Reply

