Skip to content

one? or two?

July 3, 2011
by

you know when you go for an eye checkup?  And you’re sitting in a dim room with that big optical lens thingy in front of your face?  And the doctor switches the lenses and asks you to select the one that gives you better vision – one or two?  Two or three?

Well, this is the dining room version of the eye exam.

My dining room has enjoyed some changes rather recently thanks to a pink dresser and some bright accents.  But the room is big and I’m uncomfortable selecting dresser-top accessories suitable for the scale.  And I’m trying again.

So what looks better?  One (first version)?

Or two (current version)?

*chair with cushion placed in the corner next to the dresser–previously empty*

*trio of glass vases replacing the previous dining room items on the dresser*

Inspiration for the collections in the trio of vases from Tracey at Frugal Luxuries.

I’ve been fretting about this for so long now that it is becoming increasingly difficult to see with any clarity.  All opinions welcome.  Thank you🙂

.

.

Linking to

Share the Love Wednesday at Very Merry Vintage Style
Motivated Monday at Be Colorful
Authentic Style Series at Whisperwood Cottage
Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring
Remodelaholics Anonymous
Wow us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style
18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 2:31 am

    Well, it took me a few minutes to actually see the difference in the two versions.

    But, when I did…I have to say that I liked the second version best. I like the three glass vases because it’s less. You’ve got a colorful wall hanging and a colorful dresser top, therefore to me, the glass vases are simplier.

    Btw….the whold room looks stunning!

    A++ Diane!

    Wishing you and Cristybella a wonderful 4th of July tomorrow!

    X

  2. July 4, 2011 2:34 am

    OMG…I just read my comment and realized I MISSPELLED TWO words. Simpler and whole. And I haven’t even had my glass of wine yet!!!

  3. July 4, 2011 1:39 pm

    I love, love your style. I had to sign up for email notifications right away after seeing and reading about your colorful cutting garden.

  4. July 6, 2011 1:43 am

    Version two! I love your dining room; when is dinner? I’ll bring dessert🙂

  5. July 6, 2011 1:44 am

    I like the second version best and I really want your chandelier.

  6. July 6, 2011 2:48 am

    I have to go with version two — love the glass vases and their clean lines and what you filled them with. By the way, you DO know that those prisms could probably buy you another piece of furniture or something? LOL — they are SO expensive at the flea markets! Wish I had hung on to the few I had years ago!

  7. July 6, 2011 10:39 am

    second version

  8. July 6, 2011 3:13 pm

    Version two. I like the chair in the corner, and since it’s such a big room, I think the larger accessories work.
    It’s a great room, Diane!

  9. July 6, 2011 4:28 pm

    Hi Diane, thanks for visiting my blog! I’m trying to find the “follow” button so I can follow your blog – love your design! Back to the room…I’ll have to say version 2 is my fave!🙂

  10. July 8, 2011 6:53 pm

    I like the 2nd! Just tried to make some of those paper beads. They’re tricky to get straight!

  11. July 13, 2011 1:43 am

    I really adore that pink dresser. Very bold choice and goes very well with the wall hanging above it. I vote for choice two also. I think it’s a tricky area to decorate because whatever you put there will cover part of the wall hanging. The clear vases sort of solve that problem.

  12. July 13, 2011 2:01 am

    #2… I love the chair with the skirt and pillow! Thanks for linking up to Share the Love Wednesday–!
    Mary

  13. July 13, 2011 4:10 am

    Hi: I love the chair and skirt. What a great look! Thanks for sharing. Blessings, Martha

  14. July 17, 2011 10:18 pm

    I am on the fence as to whether I like the chair there or prefer to have that space free. I do really like the trio of vases though. How fun is the idea of the crayons. I may have to copy that if you don’t mind. :0 Thanks for sharing on Motivated Monday at BeColorful. I hope you will be back again this week.
    Pam

  15. March 13, 2012 3:19 pm

    Hey Diane – do you have any post about that chandelier? I’d like to see it closer.
    Michael

Trackbacks

  1. trio of slipcovers « home sweet homemade
  2. dining room update – simple window treatment « home sweet homemade
  3. things I love – ruffles and romance « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

