Skip to content

things I love – faux chandeliers

June 24, 2011
by

When our family moved to Houston in the summer of 1969, my parents purchased a ranch-style home in a nice suburban area.  Many years later, mommy remodeled the home dramatically and gave me two lighting fixtures original to the structure, circa late 1950s.  Both are flush-mount fixtures and one is surrounded with beautiful elongated chandelier prisms.  I’ve had these fixtures stored in a shopping bag for literally YEARS.

What was I thinking?!!  There is so much I could do with those gorgeous antique prisms!

So I started browing the world of blogs for inspiration and along the way found some fabulously wonderful faux chandelier creations that have truly captured my heart.  I love them and just have to share.  These bloggers are brilliant!  

First, I fell in love with these tiny treasures created with glass chandelier prisms.  The lovely and talented Deborah at the fisherman’s cottage has a gloriously superb sense of style.  These are two of her creations.  Click on the photos to skip back to her original posts.

For the bauble below, she tinted the crystals and explains how she did it in her post. Isn’t this romantic?

Next is a quirky make-believe chandelier from Megan at Brassy Apple.  Totally faux and totally fun.  I love this!  I can so imagine an over-the-top version of this hanging over a bathtub — you know how you can’t place a wired fixture there—so this is an awesomely cute alternative!  Click on the photo to hop over to the original post for all the details.

Next, I spotted this sweet creation by Jami at Freckled Laundry.  She used clear vase filler beads to make this romantic room ornament.  What a perfect way to add some sparkle to a little corner of a room or patio.  Jami’s instructions are in her post too.

I’m not certain quite yet how to repurpose my antique chandelier, but ideas are starting to form.  Sparkly things are my absolute favorite!

Thank you so much for dropping by 🙂

.

.

.

Linking to

Sister Sunday at Sisters of the Wild West

A Creative Princess

Transformation Thursday at the Shabby Chic Cottage

Wow us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style

wow us Wednesday at Ginger Snaps

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 8:43 pm

    Now these are just FULL OF FUN. I LOVE going into a home and seeing not only beautiful things but FUN. Life is so short…we should have fun things around us all the time. Things that make us smile…even giggle, every time we look at them.
    These are all wonderful.
    xo bj

  2. June 24, 2011 11:15 pm

    Hi Diane! Thanks so much for the comment on my digital pages- it made my day.
    These chandeliers are WOW! I love the pink one;)
    C:)

  3. June 25, 2011 1:17 am

    Diane, you ALWAYS share the best stuff on your blog!

    These chandeliers are faaaaaaaaaaaaabulous!

    Creative! Fun! Unique!

    Brava to all you ladies! You’re an inspiration!

    Have a super-duper weekend, my friend.

    X to you and Cristybella!

  4. June 25, 2011 9:35 pm

    Hi Diane, I feel very flattered that you featured my little chandeliers on your post, it put a big smile on my face 🙂 have a great weekend .. Deb x

  5. June 26, 2011 4:13 am

    thanks for sharing all these awesome ideas. now i’m feeling inspired!

  6. June 30, 2011 5:55 am

    These are so cute! I wonder if I have the patience to create something so lovely? Marcia

  7. June 30, 2011 8:46 am

    Hi!! I know your blog today, its very creative. I like so much….
    I go on around here a litle bit more ;D
    Kisses from Madrid♥ ♥

  8. June 30, 2011 5:55 pm

    These are SO cute and clever! I’d sure like to score some of those prisms — that’s on my ‘hunt’ list now! Thanks for the adorable pics and post!

  9. July 1, 2011 1:11 pm

    Thank are all so cute! Thank you for linking up to “It’s a Party”!

Leave a Reply

