Skip to content

things I love – bright kitchens

June 23, 2011

I’ve had exactly 4 addresses in my adult life, post-college and the first two were on a rental basis.  Four residences, four kitchens.  All astonishingly different.  My current kitchen is open and roomy with tall ceilings, a large pantry and plenty of cupboards and cabinets.  But the thing I like best?  It’s white.  And light filled.  It’s spacious and bright.  It makes me feel relaxed.

This is what I mean.  If you’re standing between the kitchen sink and rangetop, here’s the way it looks.

Lots of space, lots of work surface area. 

Here’s a modest view from the back door toward the rangetop area.

And naturally, the other thing I REALLY love about the kitchen is the Texas flag.  And the horseshoe over the back door.  To keep the luck in.

There is not a lot of architectural interest in this kitchen and we just have not yet gotten around to thinking about that.  It’s a bit lower on the priority list than say, remodeling our master bathroom with the *ahem* gold wallpaper. 

But I digress.

 Since I’m not in the market for a kitchen renovation, I don’t happen to save or bookmark kitchen images often.  But this kitchen (below–not mine) makes me stop and smile. My oh my – heaven on earth.  If only I could place it in my house with the blink of an eye, like Barbara Eden in “I Dream of Jeannie.”

Image via House of Turquoise, photographer Susan Gilmore

I think there is a butler’s pantry just through the doorway on the right side of this image.  Same room, opposing view below.

While the kitchen is a little short on countertop space, it has a generous amount of light and an open feeling.  My checklist of fabulousness in this kitchen inclues ~

  • lots of white
  • dark wood floor
  • generously sized windows
  • adequate pantry storage
  • attractive open shelving
  • luminous white tile
  • kitchen seating area
  • pretty Dash and Albert rug!

  All of these are Things I Love about kitchens.

I’m joining the Kitchen Inspiration Party that Sarah is hosting over at Modern Country Style today, so please click over to see much more kitchen fabulousness!

Thanks for reading!

.

.

Linking to

Kitchen Favourites at Modern Country Style

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 3:16 pm

    OMG….my mother would faint over a kitchen like yours!

    She’s always wanted an open and airy kitchen, with a pass-through opening like the one you have.

    Your kitchen is heavenly, Diane. And I love how it just blends right into your den area, like one big room.

    I agree, WHITE is where it’s at. I don’t like a lot of bright color in my home. I prefer soft, easy-on-the eyes pastel colors, mixed with white.

    You taste in style is right up my ally!

    Happy Thursday, my friend.

    X to you and C!

  2. June 23, 2011 5:23 pm

    You know what I am drawn to here are the black trimmed windows. It just gives the room a snap. Great images.
    Pam

  3. Eddie Ross permalink
    June 23, 2011 7:23 pm

    Your kitchen is just so gorgeous! Spacious, relaxed, and white!! We love it!
    xo E + J
    P.S. Check out our summer party post, just in time for the 4th!!
    http://www.eddieross.com/

  4. June 23, 2011 10:33 pm

    Love your kitchen, so much room and what a gorgeous sink. Beautiful space & colours.
    xox Kerry

  5. June 24, 2011 8:29 am

    I can never get over how hiiiiigh your ceilings are. So gorgeous! And your whole house is so sophisticated and full of lovely light. Lucky girl!!!

    Thank you so much for linking up to my Kitchen Favourites party!

    I LOVE your kitchen!

    Sarahx

  6. June 24, 2011 11:36 am

    Not a lot of architectural interest? With those columns and the clerestory windows? I think it’s lovely! (visiting via Modern Country Style)

  7. June 24, 2011 3:41 pm

    Aaah! Your kitchen is goooorgeous! You could fit, like, 5 of my kitchen in your kitchen. I would faint over that much space. :o) And I absolutely love that other kitchen…the floor, the wall color, the cabinets. I wish mine were that airy and bright. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  8. June 24, 2011 10:47 pm

    I think you could get that look in your kitchen. (which is fabulous!)
    It’s an awesome kitchen~the thing that grabbed me first was the tile all the way up to the ceiling! LOVE that look!

  9. June 25, 2011 9:47 pm

    Wow, what a wonderful spacious kitchen, love the artwork on the wall and the hanging jars… looks like a great part too🙂 x

Leave a Reply

