Skip to content

things I love – fruits of the garden

May 11, 2011

The very first thing I do after I get home from work is dash outdoors to look at the garden, then spend about 30 minutes giving it a nice cool drink of water.  It’s not an impressive garden by landscape magazine standards, but the fact that I have pretty blooming plants, many of which started from mere seeds, is just darned amazing.

Last weekend, on the drive home from central Texas, we stopped at Wildseed Farms, where they cultivate acres of flowers just to harvest and sell the seeds.  We spent a little time there admiring the beautiful meadows and spotted a few varieties of plants we’ve targeted for cultivation next year, like this one.

Yes, that name is correct.  I’ve checked.  But the small tree has lovely pink flowers (below) and a rough twisted trunk.

Images from the meadows of Wildseed Farms.

That last image on the lower right are the zinnias.  That’s what we have in our very own version of a wildflower field.  Although it’s not a field.  And the flowers are not wild, they’re definitely cultivated. 

It’s a supersized helping of bliss.

One of the bonus features of this little garden is that it will assist in shielding the rather unattractive pool light housing.

The disguise will last through the warm weather months anyway.   The little garden is just getting established after 4 weeks and the plants seem to like growing in this area of the yard.  They haven’t felt any extreme heat.  Yet.  Texas summer is on the way.

If anyone’s interested, I’ll do another post on those flowerpot fence hanging contraptions (in the image above).  I ended up making more myself because it doesn’t seem that they’re available any longer.

But for now, just a couple more zinnia blossoms to smooth out the rough edges of the day.

That little candy cane striped varietal (above right) should be open tomorrow – such excitement!

Thank you for reading, I’m so happy to share these pretty flowers.

Linking to

Handy Man-Crafty Woman

The Little Round Table

Savvy Southern Style

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 4:03 am

    “The very first thing I do after I get home from work is dash outdoors to look at the garden, then spend about 30 minutes giving it a nice cool drink of water.”

    OMG, Diane….that sounds faaaaaabulous! What a wonderful way to relax and unwind after a day at work.

    Your zinnia’s and garden are sooooooooo beautiful!

    Oh, I wish I had a green thumb. I have a BLACK thumb, I KILL everything – I swear! I can even kill SILKS!

    Yes, I would love to read a post on those flowerpot fence hanging contraptions. And see more of your lovely garden!

    Thanks for sharing this bright and cheery flower post, my friend.

    So enjoyed it! Hope you had a super day!

    X to you and C!

  2. May 11, 2011 3:55 pm

    Beautiful images and a lovely garden! That watering and releasing stress is so true, a great way to spend a few minutes getting away. I have a desert willow …. one of my favorite trees and the flowers look like hundreds of little orchids.

    Thanks so much for joining the garden party!

    Candy

  3. May 24, 2011 12:13 am

    Lovely! Zinnias are my favorite summer flower to use in a baby garden! They are so beautiful and fast growing! Watering the garden is my favorite activity to relax too!

Leave a Reply

