Skip to content

inspiration courtesy of crate and barrel

May 1, 2011
by

Another Crate & Barrel catalog arrived the other day.  Sadly, I hardly glance at them, but I should.  Cristy  browsed through it and stopped on a page to show me.

What?  I asked.

Look at the middle of the table, she said.

Oh, wow.

We just bought one of those pretty little driftwood garlands when we were in Rockport a couple of weekends ago.  I hadn’t thought of using it as table decoration, but that’s why Crate and Barrel catalogs are so cool, right?  They have these wonderful stylists to demonstrate how to creatively incorporate their products into your home.

So then I started looking at the catalog again.  Looking at the details.

OK, great room.  I really really do like that striped sofa and the tufted ottoman on casters, but so what?

Zoom in on the cabinet.  Look again at the detail.

The stylist added an awesome oversized key to that cabinet.  It’s a fabulous touch!

Just one more page.  This looks like a good vision for our own home.

I like the pretty aqua lamps, the seagrass rug, the striped slipcover and the white curtains at the large windows. 

I think the lamp might be a good project to add to my list.  I’ve got this very sad lamp with a mismatched shade perched on top that has been waiting patiently for a makeover. 

I think the time has come.  To freshen it up and say goodbye to that lampshade.  But of course I’ll salvage the beads (like any good diy/crafter).

Fact is, I need to purchase some paint for another makeover project anyway.  So I might as well get a tiny bit of spray paint for this lamp too. 

Thanks for the inspiration, Crate & Barrel (and thank you Cristybella).

And thank you for reading.  I’m glad to share my humble blog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 4:42 pm

    You and Cristy have such excellent taste!

    I love everything you shared in this post – especially the lamp shade.

    I haven’t been to a Crate & Barrel in soooooooooo long. What a great place!

    Have a great Monday, my friend!

    X to you and C!

  2. May 2, 2011 4:46 pm

    I think that lamp will look great painted aqua! I like getting inspiration from catalogs, too.
    Like that over sized key. I want one now!

Trackbacks

  1. updating an old lamp « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

