Skip to content

refining the recycled paper notelets

April 27, 2011
by

I’ve made a few notecards and greeting cards from used envelopes and colorful paper that otherwise would have made its way to the recycling bin.  And have stepped up my efforts to commit to homemade notecards and envelopes rather than commercially made ones, in part, to reduce paper waste.  I used a page from our community newsletter for the envelope below.

Making envelopes was slightly more challenging until I considered using cellophane envelope windows.  You just need to cut out one of those windows from your electric bill and a slice of paper upon which to write the recipient’s mailing address. 

After a touch of glue to affix the cellophane window to the envelope, the mailing address is securely in place and easy to see.

And best of all, you can use any paper you want for the envelope.  So I’ve been taking advantage of attractively photographed catalog and magazine pages.  I just fold them to fit (loosely) around my homemade greeting card.

I try to keep the back pretty too with a simple snip of the scissors.

I’m always collecting ideas, so please point me toward other interesting homemade envelope techniques that you might have seen.

As always, thank you for reading.  I so appreciate your company 🙂

Linking to

House of Grace

Be Colorful

Polly  Want a Crafter

Making the World Cuter

Craft Envy

Stuff and Nonsense

A Glimpse Inside

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 2:16 am

    How amazingly clever you were in figuring a way to use the cellophane window from your electric bill to create this envelope, Diane!

    Which, by the way, I ADORE the map-look to the envelope!

    Not only unique, but also very waste conscious.

    You GO, girl!

    Hope you had a lovely, my friend!

    X to you and C!

  2. April 27, 2011 3:23 am

    Those are really cool! I’d love to get a map letter in the mail!
    The only envelopes I’ve seen that stood out were made out of brown paper bags that had floral print on them. They were really pretty.

  3. April 27, 2011 4:37 am

    Great way to reuse that cellophane! I always feel bad recycling those envelopes. I mean do they consider that paper? Or plastic? Or both? Anyways, I love the map envelope. And guess what? The area covered on the map is right near where I used to live. I know FM 1960 and TC Jester like the back of my hand!

  4. April 27, 2011 4:39 am

    And I forgot to say thank you for the well wishes. I’m feeling much better today. Hopefully I can tackle my table over the next few days.

    Also thanks for the painting tip! I promise to never have someone paint my house while I’m out of town :).

  5. April 27, 2011 3:36 pm

    Clever you. Creatively going green. 🙂
    I stopped by to thank you for your motivating comment on my wordy clock and to say you got me by mentioning hanging a suzani. Hello, I am from Iowa. The world could end and I would still have another 8 years to live… we are that far behind. I was thinking, ” Okay, don’t want her to know I am that stupid.” So I googled suzani and now I have an idea of what you are talking about. Love those colorful pattern. Can’t wait to see how it turned out and thanks for teaching me something… indirectly. 🙂
    hugs,
    Pam

  6. May 9, 2011 4:21 am

    love the map design and using the cellophane window… genius. Thanks for sharing on Motivated Monday
    Pam

Leave a Reply

