Skip to content

things I love – blue and white stripes

April 21, 2011

Originally, I began this post to celebrate stripes of all hues.  But along the way, the only images I collected were blue and white striped items.  Hmmm.  Seems I gravitate in that direction.

Must be the pleasing crispness of the bands of color.  So journey with me through the land of blue and white stripes, if you will.

From the home of Claire Morris of Apple & Bee (via Design*Sponge).  The simple striped pillow on this bed makes me want to snooze off to sweet-dreamyland.

From the home of Chad Maltby and Heather McDonald (also via Design*Sponge).  This is such a comfortable and modern stylish living room.  My preferred place to sit would, of course, be the striped chair. 

Image from House Beautiful, designer Chris Barrett.  This is a beautiful kitchen, no question about it.  And what do I keep looking at?  The pretty little striped rug.

From the home of Paul and Haley Ormiston (via designer/stylist Anna Spiro, Absolutely Beautiful Things), photographer Simon Kenny.  Granted, this featured home has no shortage of splendid furnishings.  But honestly, what could be more perfect for this magnificent chair?  Makes it seem like the most comfortable seat in the house.

And who could forget the beautiful living room from the film Something’s Got to Give?  The wonderfully stylish striped rug gives the entire room a lighthearted mood.

Sometimes when we are longing for the feeling of comfort, the simple answer might be our trusted friend, the blue and white stripe. 

Thank you for reading 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 8:55 pm

    I don’t know what it is about blue and white stripes but I LOVE them. Especially anything nautical looking!

  2. April 21, 2011 10:32 pm

    It’s funny, because I’m not into patterns, however I do love stripes. I think it’s because stripes are easy on the eye, yet add a bit of ‘dash’ to a room.

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, that second photo of the living room. It’s amazing how they took a small space and added style, yet it remains airy and open. Perfect for a smaller city apartment!

    You always share such wonderful things on your blog, Diane!

    Thank you!

    X to you and C!

  3. April 22, 2011 1:59 am

    That last rug is DIVINE! I love the striped chairs, too. Blue and white is such a a great color combination!
    I just found some old blue and white ticking fabric the other day. I haven’t washed it yet to see if any of it is usable, but it’s the real deal.

  4. April 22, 2011 1:58 pm

    Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. It is great to hear feedback from fellow readers 🙂

    I love the look of the family room. That rug seems like an amazing DIY project!!

  5. April 23, 2011 3:29 pm

    Blue and white is most definitely the best color combo for stripes. Fresh and a bit nautical. Isn’t it fun to discover what your eye is drawn to? I find myself going to the same things over and over, too.
    Have a wonderful Easter!

Leave a Reply

