Skip to content

how does your garden grow

April 20, 2011
by

The warm weather is coaxing our garden herbs and flowers into fast paced growth.  Let’s check it out.

Remember how this basil (above) looked only a few weeks ago (below)?

The parsley and thyme are slow growers compared with the basil, but they’re making progress all the same.

I planted three varieties of zinnia seeds and they grow at different rates.  I’ve had to transplant some of the larger ones from their flowerpot homes into a garden.  Blossom buds are visible, oh joy!

And as they say, a funny thing happened on the way to the, uh, garden.

Two weekends ago I was digging this particular flower bed for the zinnias  (by hand, I might add, because of the network of delicate irrigation pipes and fittings snaking beneath the lawn)  and found a curious little sprouting plant.  As I dug a bit further to reveal the source of the seed, I saw a peanut.  From our very own squirrel feeder, planted by one of our friendly neighboring squirrels.

Now this peanut sprout is now part of the backyard plant family.  Hopefully it will flourish along with the young herbs and flowers.

Let me know how your garden grows!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 3:34 am

    I’ve never seen a peanut plant before! Your basil is growing at what seems like an outrageous pace, too. I’m probably just jealous. 🙂

  2. April 20, 2011 2:31 pm

    “As I dug a bit further to reveal the source of the seed, I saw a peanut. From our very own squirrel feeder, planted by one of our friendly neighboring squirrels.”

    HA! See! What did I tell you about those nutty, mischievous squirrels????

    God love ’em!

    OMG, Diane, that basil plant looks AMAZING! Basil is one of my favorite herbs. I can smell that plant from here!

    “And as they say, a funny thing happened on the way to the, uh, garden.”

    LOVE that!

    Have a lovely Wednesday, my friend!

    X to you and C!

  3. April 20, 2011 8:59 pm

    ugh. so jealous of that basil! it is the most wonderful thing on earth.

    it’s still 30 degrees and rainy in illinois… ugh.

  4. April 21, 2011 8:54 am

    basil is looking gorgeous!!!

  5. April 22, 2011 2:37 pm

    Our peas are sprouting!Happy Friday,Happy Good Friday, Happy Earth Day, Happy Jelly Bean Day ( yes it’s actually jelly bean day)Hugs from Katherine. P.S have you entered my giveaway?

Trackbacks

  1. summertime … and the living is easy « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

