Skip to content

things I love – button edition

April 13, 2011

I have a bouquet of button flowers on my desk at work.  They are unmistakably homemade.  And for me, that, by itself, is the point.  The things we make ourselves are unique in all the world — we remove ourselves from the engine of mass production consumerism. 

For me, buttons represent the sweetness and loving thoughtfulness of making something by hand, or alternatively, stretching the imagination to improve or customize a mass produced item.  That is what this blog, home sweet homemade, is about.

So in that spirit, this post is an homage to the humble button.  Let’s take a moment to look at four delightful button embellishments.  All completely lovely and inspired!

1) These simple tassels with buttons at the bottom of the loops capture my very heart. 

 Image from Robynne’s Nest

2) I must admit, I am a pushover for a button flower.  Any button flower.  This one is so cheerful it just makes me smile.

Image from Lella Boutique

3) I read Carolyn’s Homework constantly.  Carolyn is wonderfully creative and always surprises me with the artful way in which she approaches projects.   I’m smitten with her selection and composition of vintage buttons in near-monochromatic arrangements.

Image from Carolyn’s Homework

4) Michael, from the Blue Velvet Chair opened my eyes to a new avenue of creating with buttons – assembling them mosaic style.  And I adore the layering confetti effect she has achieved with her mosaic framed mirror.

I am already percolating ideas to make attempts at similar projects of my own, thanks to these four brilliant bloggers!

Thank you for reading and for enthusiastically sharing your creativity!

Linking to Modern Country Style’s define your blog Link Party

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 10:29 pm

    Diane – wow! Thanks so much for the feature of my button mirror. It’s really one of my most prized projects that I made for myself – so I’m glad to be sharing it with the world and hope someone else will try one and experience the joy!
    Michael
    bluevelvetchair.blogspot.com

  2. April 14, 2011 3:34 am

    i LOOOOOVE buttons.

    i hoard them in jars and never use them, except sometimes in scrapbooking. I just like staring at them all in the jar.

    i’m so weird.

  3. April 14, 2011 1:03 pm

    Hi Diane,

    I LOVE buttons too. They remind me of going through my mother’s sewing box when I was a little girl.

    I really like your little bouquet on your desk. I totally agree with you about them being a welcome reminder of the beauty of homemade loveliness.

    Sarahx

  4. April 14, 2011 2:19 pm

    I love this post and I agree with handmade things and how important they are and how beautiful they are. I love buttons and like Sarah, they bring back memories. My grandmother had loads of them and I loved playing with them and grabbing handfuls and feeling them through my fingers. It is wonderful that such a little piece can bring back such huge and wonderful memories. 🙂

  5. April 14, 2011 2:35 pm

    One of my favorite things to do as a child was to sort through my mother’s button box. I’d ask her what each set of buttons had made. I created people out of them, and I imagined the people my mother had known. I’d give a lot to have that button box now.

  6. April 14, 2011 4:17 pm

    Hi,
    I am joining Sarah’s lovely party from my vintage apartment in Chicago. So glad you joined, too.

    Fondly,
    Glenda

    Gg – Notes on the Journey
    Link #26

    ps. your lovely post reminds me of my grandma’s button tin, when I was a little girl.

  7. April 14, 2011 4:18 pm

    Visiting from Sarahs party. I love buttons and I love homemade

    x

  8. April 14, 2011 9:50 pm

    Lovely post…I especially like those tassels! Robx

  9. April 15, 2011 3:37 am

    Saw your “potting fence” was featured on French Country Home. Congrats Diane!

    • April 15, 2011 2:29 pm

      Hi Emily, wow, thanks for telling me. What a great surprise for a beautiful Friday morning! Love Courney’s blog. ❤

  10. April 15, 2011 8:53 am

    You had me at button, Diane. That button flower especially! Your blog is ADORABLE and I just love all your craftsy inspiration! Adore the brooch displays in your previous blog too, the synthetic leaves are genius!

    Thank you so much for leaving footprints on my blog so I could find your lovely blog. I am now a happy follower 🙂

    Meera xx

  11. April 16, 2011 1:19 am

    Great projects! I really like your button bouquet. Those would be fun to make for Mother’s Day.

  12. April 16, 2011 1:34 am

    Hello there! I think buttons are just the epitome of homemade and crafty. I think everyone remembers a button jar in their home growing up and either learning to sew with one or the fun they had making projects. Such a great post with lovely projects. Nice to meet you.

  13. April 17, 2011 3:36 pm

    Oh yeah. I’m crushing on the first photo. I wish I had the time right now to try that. Love your eye. Thanks for the inspiration and for the glowing comment you left me on my colorful garden or garden looking side tables. It made my morning.
    Pam

  14. April 17, 2011 5:15 pm

    Love buttons! All the images you shared are darling. I have tins and jars of buttons from my mother and grandmother, and my daughter and I have spent many hours sifting through them and crafting with them!
    ~Amanda

Leave a Reply

