Skip to content

things I love – the yardstick edition

March 30, 2011

Growing up, we kept two measuring sticks in the kitchen pantry for quick access since everyone in the family used them rather often.  One was a standard yardstick and the other was a metric version (one meter).  Oh yes!  My dad was an engineer.

I haven’t had a 12-inch ruler, much less a yardstick in, well, ages. 

Once again the blogging world delivers a dose of joy.  I am thrilled to discover that old fashioned yardsticks are cosmetic tools of choice for home interior projects.

I absolutely love the look of assorted wooden rulers adhered to the top of this tiny chest of drawers.

Image and instructions from Country Living.

As a complement to butcher block countertops, humble yardsticks stand in as a DIY backsplash in this bright and cheerful kitchen (one that I have publicly admired before).

Image and backspash instructions by AshelyAnn Photography.

For a less ambituous, but equally nostalgic dose of yardstick love, Julie of Belle Maison has covered the exterior of an ordinary tin can with little slices from rulers to hold the paintbrushes on her desk.

I am inspired.  And as fate would have it, the inspiration is raining down on me the very day before we are headed to the Round Top antiques market.  How coincidental is that?

Thank you so much for reading!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 1:09 am

    Yes, I am VERY familiar with a yard stick because I went to catholic school, and the nuns used them quite often. Not for measuring mind you, but rather for CRACKIN’ my knuckles.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHHA!

    OMG, I LOVE these yardstick creations you share with us today, Diane! They’re absolutely ingenious! I especially like the backsplash. I would have never thought to do that!

    I can’t wait to see what YOU come up with.

    Hope you had a GRAND day, my friend.

    X to you and C!

  2. March 31, 2011 1:49 am

    super cute, it reminds me of being young

  3. March 31, 2011 3:08 pm

    i love that table! great picks!

  4. March 31, 2011 5:48 pm

    That backsplash is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

