Skip to content

little sprouts

March 30, 2011

By the beginning of summer, I’d like to have some colorful flowers in the garden that look like this.

We already have a nice head start, with a variety of other plantings, both in the flowerbeds and flowerpots.  But for me, the zinnias will be the flower of my heart.  When I was a little girl, I remember my mom kept a cutting garden of zinnias.  So bright and summery and colorful.

These tiny little sprouts have responded to the warm weather quickly – I just planted the seeds this past Saturday.

The older siblings are about 2 weeks old now, transplanted to an old dutch kettle converted to a planter with the simple addition of a drainage hole.

 And just because I’m on a roll, playing the role of a successful gardener, my basil sprouts seem to be happy in their new home too, they have more room to grow.

Thank you for reading.  Please do share your zinnia or basil growing advice!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 2:44 pm

    *smiling*

    This is the second post I’ve read this morning sharing the colorful flowers of Spring!

    Seeing flowers always makes me feel giddy and childlike. I was in the grocery store on Monday, and they had a display of purple and yellow pansies for sale. I had to stop and touch them, and tell them how happy they made me feel.

    (I’m sure the other customers in the store thought I was CRAZY) – HA!

    Your little sprouts look so precious, Diane! I can’t wait to see them blossom. Oh, and basil? That’s my absolutely favorite herb! The smell, the taste – YUMMY!

    I love sliced tomatoes with basil, sprinkled with olive oil – bellissima!

    Thanks for sharing the beauty of Spring, my friend!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  2. March 30, 2011 3:21 pm

    Your zinnias are going to be wonderful this year! Good idea to get a head start. Do you have big plans for pesto, as well?

  3. March 30, 2011 4:44 pm

    I wish I had your patience. I will be over at the local nursery paying way too much. They will love lovely for about six weeks and then I have a tendency to get bored with them, ignore and abuse them and then impatiently wait for the mums to come in so I can start all over. 🙂
    Thanks for visiting and leaving such a glowing comment on the bird house I did for a client.
    have a good one,
    Pam

  4. March 30, 2011 6:18 pm

    I wish I actually enjoyed gardening because every post I read about the gorgeous flowers of spring make me want to have a garden but alas I will have to settle for pictures as gardening and I do not get along.

  5. March 30, 2011 6:43 pm

    I love that you are able to do this. I seem to kill just about everything but orchids. Good luck to you and I am impressed!

Trackbacks

  1. summertime … and the living is easy « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

