Skip to content

the Egypt panel

March 27, 2011

Last spring at the Round Top antiques market, Cristy and I purchased a few items from one of the dealers, including a large decorative panel that he told us was from Egypt.

Mmmm, right, we thought.

Egypt.  As in Egypt, Texas? 

Regardless of origin, we liked it and promptly took it home without much of a plan.   Later it ended up in our living room with an assortment of DIY framed batik fabrics surrounding it.  I found a fabulous source for custom-sized, assembled stretcher frames.  All I had to do was staple the fabric around them.  Simple.

We think it works well in this large room and the geometry of the batik squares complements the panel’s own internally framed design.

A look back at the room, almost a year ago. 

We think the panel-batik wall lives in harmony with our interior as it continues to evolve.

Thank you for reading!

.

.

Linking to

Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Chic Cottage

Chic on a Shoestring

Funky Junk Interiors

Making the World Cuter

Debbiedoo’s

Delightful Order

The Charm of Home

French Country Cottage

A Glimpse Inside

WhipperBerry

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 11:54 pm

    Whichever Egypt it’s from, it’s awesome! The panel and the batiks compliment each other perfectly!

  2. March 27, 2011 11:55 pm

    “Mmmm, right, we thought.

    Egypt. As in Egypt, Texas?”

    HA! Actually, it does kinda remind me of something that could have come from Egypt.

    It’s awesome-looking, Diane! And I love how you left it completely natural instead of stripping it and then painting it. As I was looking at that second shot, I thought…”How did she get those stretcher frames so perfectly even around the panel?” Way to go!!!

    Love that last shot of you and Cristybella. What a lovely home the two of you have!

    Bellissima!

    Ciao!
    X

  3. March 28, 2011 12:13 pm

    WOW! Love this…and what a beautiful home you have! Thanks for your sweet comments on my blog too. Have a great week! Laurel

  4. March 28, 2011 3:37 pm

    I’m so glad you like my “Blue Boy” chair! I was trying as much as I could to preserve the wood (a.k.a. not make it worse) and am really happy with the results especially with the patterned blue fabric. And thanks for leaving such a nice comment on my blog.

    I think the decorative panel looks so pretty between the framed fabrics. And I love how the framed fabrics are in harmony with the other fabrics in your furniture/pillows. By the way, I’m heading to Round Top for the antiques fair this Sat. My first time! Any tips on where to go and where I can get good deals? (basically avoid the high-priced booths)

    Emily
    Emily

  5. March 28, 2011 6:40 pm

    love the piece, love the photos, love the arrangement. Damn. I must be in love : 0
    Thanks for stopping by BeColorful. I’ve been peeking around here and btw your Texas flag is awesome.
    Have a great week.
    Pam

  6. March 28, 2011 7:05 pm

    hiya visiting from debbies newbie party and your newest follower , wow i love how you used the canvases and the panel together it is so cool looking and perfect for your high ceilings which by the way i am so envious of x tfs and hope to see you at mine sometime x
    xmaggiex

  7. March 28, 2011 7:09 pm

    I love your wall art. Very cool, rustic and unique to say the least. THanks for joining my newbie party. No worries on the old bedding, I will use it for Fall and Winter…I like to change it up per season…that bedding is my favorite too.

  8. March 28, 2011 8:21 pm

    Whether it’s from Egypt of not, I *love* it! Your home is beautiful.
    Thanks for stopping by Red Hen Home!

  9. March 29, 2011 2:09 am

    what a great find and so unique, love it

  10. March 29, 2011 8:09 am

    It looks awesome there. What a great pairing with the batik panels. I LOVE your house. All the sneak peeks you give us look so spacious and airy and classic and lovely.

    Sarahx

  11. March 29, 2011 10:48 am

    You have a very nice home. Love the panel-batik wall, it gorgeous with your overall interior.

  12. March 30, 2011 3:18 pm

    Hi, I had to come back…I was catching up with your blog yesterday and I love this. It looks fantastic in you room too. The interior is beautiful🙂 I hope you are both well ~ Much Love ~ Chrissy

  13. March 31, 2011 11:42 pm

    I love it….looks so nice on that wall

  14. April 1, 2011 12:01 am

    Very pretty! Love the fabric you used.
    Thanks for linking up!

  15. April 1, 2011 11:56 pm

    OOoh, this is my kind of look! I love the panel and the whole look in general.
    xo,
    Sena

  16. April 2, 2011 2:55 pm

    Wow- what a neat find. I love big chunky architectural pieces- your wall looks great! Thanks for sharing at FNF!🙂

  17. April 4, 2011 4:56 pm

    That looks lovely with your batik! I like how you have it displayed. Interesting piece. Thanks for linking it up!
    Sherry

  18. April 6, 2011 2:27 am

    Beautiful wall, very artistic. I like batik fabric also.

  19. September 16, 2011 2:31 pm

    I love batiks…..you are a very clever lady. I may have to use this idea one day.

Trackbacks

  1. the artful hallway « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

