Skip to content

things I love – Texas vibe

March 26, 2011

I celebrated my 50th birthday just over a week ago and received a fabulous gift from the love of my life, Cristybella. One of the best gifts imaginable for a Texan:  a Texas state flag. And not just any flag. A flag that has flown over the Texas state capitol. That’s pretty cool in my book. 

Now it’s hanging in our kitchen and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Ever since I hung it, I’ve been considering the state of mind, the state of grace, the state of existence that is Texas. Its vastness and diversity defies  ordinary description.  But as they say, a picture paints a thousand words:  here are a few images unmistakably Texan.

The late Lady Bird Johnson was responsible, more than any other person, for the proliferation of wildflower seed sowing throughout the state.  State highways and city streets are lined with ribbons of color this time of year.

Translate this field of flowers to the indoors and you get something like this.

Photo by Ree Drummond.

Texas has a rich history of ranching and farming.  This connection to our past resonates through our traditions, customs, speech, even our economy.  Texas ranches and farms contribute in a big way to the romantic lore that is Texas.

Image from the El Coyote Ranch in Kingsville, TX.

Translate this simple, hard working way of life to the indoors and it might have a rustic look like this.

Pool House
spaces design by atlanta interior designer Brian Watford ID

However, just when you start to think you’ve got it figured out, Texas will throw a big curve ball.  The brilliance of the unexpected adds a jubilant beauty to everything.

Source:  Orange Show Art Car Parade, artist Jackie Harris

And that, my friends, is why it fills my heart with joy to see this gorgeous Texas flag as soon as I walk into my home. 

 To sum it up, for me the Texas vibe = 1 part romance, 1 part rustic and mix it up with 1 part unforgettable.

 

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

 

Linking to

Chic on a Shoestring

Finding Fabulous

Funky Junk Interiors

 A Glimpse Inside

A Little Knick Knack 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 1:01 am

    Love that Flag!! Thank you for always being so wonderful! not Bionic but I wish I was. So I could jump really high and run places to save on Gas!! LOL Hugs Anne

  2. March 27, 2011 1:22 am

    First off, HAPPY BELATED 50th BIRTHDAY, DIANE!!!!!

    You GO, girl! And I have to tell you (being someone who is now 55), that it just keeps getting better with age.

    Like fine wine!

    Second….I LOVE the flag! How faaaaaabulous of Cristybella! I can tell from the energy of your words how much you adore your awesome state! I’ve never been, but have a close friend in Florida who lived there and said nothing but great things about Texas.

    Really enjoyed all these photos you posted. The ones of the purple flowers are exquiste!

    I bow to your glorious state of Texas!

    Hope you’re having a super weekend!

    Much X to you and C!

  3. March 27, 2011 7:45 pm

    The flag is awesome! All the pics are wonderful…xo
    Robin

  4. March 27, 2011 11:57 pm

    I really hope to see some of Texas someday. I have a friend who just moved from Texas to Idaho, and she loved it there. The flag is really cool. Not only for what it represents to you, but I think it’s one of the best designed state flags.

  5. March 28, 2011 10:01 am

    Hi Diane –
    Your flag reminded me of a sign that my friend here in Sweden had made to hang in her living room – it says ‘Texan Spoken Here’ – with those appropriate red, white, and blue colors! Thanks for checking out my button mirror – I see you have some button flowers (?) as the graphic in your blog banner…something you made? Where can I see a full photo? Love them.
    Cheers.
    Michael

  6. April 3, 2011 5:47 am

    I love this! I, too, am a Texan, so this speak to my very soul!

    Stopping by from Funky Junk Interiors–thanks for sharing! 🙂

  7. April 3, 2011 1:23 pm

    Love the flag…Being from Austin and seeing the pictures of the bluebonnets made me homesick…now living in lower Alabama (an hour from the beaches)…I would love to be able to transplant some of those flowers here…

  8. April 4, 2011 8:39 am

    That’s a really nice flag. I have a small collection of British and Australian flags and I might keep an eye out for one of these! Robx

  9. April 8, 2011 5:12 am

    I am from Texas, born and raised now in AZ….so this post just makes me happy. That flag is so special to have flown at the capital. Wow, I love the pictures and everything you said about my home state. My heart is always there but also at home with my husband and kids. Of course!!!!
    love this!!!
    ladeedacreations.com

Trackbacks

  1. things I love – bright kitchens « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

