Skip to content

homemade notecard II

March 24, 2011
tags: ,
by

I read a random blog entry yesterday by someone who listed a fair number of reasons why he (or she, not sure) didn’t much care for home made greeting cards.  The author preferred a standard card purchased in a store.

Well, ok.  I’ll make sure not to send this little cutie pie to that person.

I don’t expect the recipients of my cards to consider them works of art and keep them in a place of honor in their homes for ever and ever.  I only expect that the cards will bring them a little smile.  Maybe even make them feel special, if only for a minute.  I figure they’ll end up in the trash sooner or later.  That’s one of the reasons I lately decided to make them.

This one uses recycled parts from previously used envelopes (notice the postmark) and colorful paper fragments from other pieces of junk mail.  The clothes hangers were easy to bend into shape from two Christmas tree ornament hooks.  Perfectly sized too. 

Thanks so much for reading.  Recycling rocks!

Linking to

Finding Fabulous

Somewhat Simple

A Glimpse Inside

Delightful Order

Allie Makes

Tales from Bloggeritaville

It’s a Crafty Life

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 3:05 pm

    Diane, I believe this is the most ADORABLE card I’ve EVER seen!

    OMG….it’s AWESOME!

    And I have to agree with you 100%…..

    ” I only expect that the cards will bring them a little smile. Maybe even make them feel special, if only for a minute. ”

    Personally, I would much rather receive a homemade card rather than a standard card.

    And why?

    Because they were made with LOVE.

    Happy Thursday, my friend!

    X to you and C!

  2. March 24, 2011 4:00 pm

    Super cute! I love handmade cards. I think they are extra special. Just wish I had more time to make some. Thanks for linking up!

  3. March 24, 2011 11:52 pm

    I think just the fact that someone took the time to make a card means it’s more special. But, to each their own.

  4. March 25, 2011 3:06 am

    I don’t understand anyone that would rather have a store bought card. Yours is so creatively superior and absolutely delightful. This is the kind of card I would keep forever.
    Thanks for stopping by BeColorful. I loved your idea of filling my bowl with pearls. I’ll pass that thought along to my big guy.🙂
    Pam

  5. March 25, 2011 10:59 am

    You are so smart, Love the card I would frame that and put it in my house.. OOO saw your slip covered chair on Remodelaholic.. So awsome..🙂 Big Hug Anne

  6. March 28, 2011 12:50 am

    I have to agree with the others, home made is the best kind of card to get.🙂 And this one is adorable! Thanks for linking up!

  7. May 28, 2011 2:08 am

    this is a fun idea!! love it

Leave a Reply

