Skip to content

historic cotton warehouse

March 19, 2011
by

I was out attending to some errands on Saturday and stopped to take a few photographs.  While trying to get this picture

I unexpectedly met the owner of this building who regarded me with a fair degree of suspicion.  After I introduced myself as merely a hobbyist, he smiled and began talking about the history of the warehouse, built in 1891.  It was originally a cotton warehouse and is now one of the oldest standing structures in Houston.  Then, to my surprise, he offered to give me a tour of the premises.

The building is constructed entirely of heavy timber beams and planks. Someone added the external facing many many years later.

 The hardware securing those beams is massive .

Cotton was once a significant part of the Houston economy.  A hundred years ago, this building was filled to the rafters with bales of cotton.

Thank you for reading and sharing this little tour!  It was indeed a treat.

Linking to

WhipperBerry

Craft Envy

Polly Want A Crafter

Be Colorful

The Charm of Home

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 12:24 am

    Oh, Diane….I so enjoy seeing photos and hearing the history of a place. It’s funny, for someone who got D’s and F’s in history class, as I got older I began to really enjoy learning about history.

    The craftmanship of this warehouse looks amazing! They don’t make buildings like that anymore. I bet it felt so cool to look around inside and hear about the history of the place. Whenever I visit a historical place, I try to imagine what it was like back then. Often in an old place, I can feel the energy.

    Thanks for sharing, Diane! Really enjoyed!

    Hope you had a super Saturday!

    X to you and C!

  2. March 20, 2011 10:40 pm

    What a cool old building! I’m glad the owner finally warmed up and shared some of the history with you!

  3. March 21, 2011 6:52 pm

    Thank you so much Diane. Hugs Anne

  4. March 21, 2011 7:48 pm

    How awesome that you got to tour that amazing building. Seeing the pictures, it made me think would a fantastic home it would make. So many features!!

    You must have the gift of the gab if the man went from being suspicious to showing you arounbd the place!! Well done, you!

    Sarahx

  5. March 22, 2011 2:11 am

    That is one very cool building! Those nuts and bolts are huge!
    It’s funny, I was taking pictures of an old building in my hometown this past weekend. 🙂

  6. March 25, 2011 12:42 am

    What a great adventure to have. I love learning the history of things (I’m an avid genealogist) and this is no exception. I love the picture of the hardware on the beams.

  7. March 27, 2011 8:05 pm

    Great photos. Aren’t those unexpected events the best? Thanks for sharing on Motivated Monday at BeColorful. You definitely have the eye.
    Pam

  8. April 9, 2011 4:58 am

    Great Snaps!

    ~Liz

  9. April 10, 2011 5:56 pm

    What wonderful post and beam structure! I love old building like this. We have some neat old buildings here that have been turned into Dr.’s offices and shopping malls. Really nice historic building. Thanks for linking it up!
    Sherry

  10. Mara McCumber permalink
    June 6, 2013 5:57 pm

    Could you tell me what building this is and/or where it’s located? I’d love to go see it!

Leave a Reply

