Skip to content

graphic art inspiration

February 11, 2011
by

I know, I still have a few pesky unfinished projects lurking in the shadows. But I can’t help myself from starting to envision my next creative undertaking. 

My sources of inspiration originate from

(1) maps, like this colorful rendering of Amsterdam

Last weekend I purchased a travel atlas of the US and an historic atlas  of the world at the Half Price bookstore.  The illustrations and cartographs in these two books are gorgeous.  Plus, don’t forget that wonderful source for reproduction copies of historic Texas maps, the Texas General Land Office.

(2) old currency from my childhood piggy bank

(3) this truly inspired example of fingerprint art from Chris at ManMade

(4) artistically appealing earth imagery, courtesty of the US Geological Survey

(5) romantically sentimental botanical images, like this one from VintagePrintable

A collage is in my future.  I can hardly wait!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 9:38 pm

    I love the fingerprint art! And old maps. It’s going to be fun to see what you come up with!

  2. February 12, 2011 3:13 am

    Can’t WAIT to see what wonderfulness you come up with, Diane!

    I just know it’ll be brilliant!

    Hey, and I lived in Amsterdam for a summer. Talk about a faaaaaaabulous country!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    X to you and Cristy!

  3. February 15, 2011 2:06 pm

    Great insirational pics! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

