Skip to content

blooming branches

February 5, 2011
by

It’s almost that time here in southern Texas. Time for the exceedingly short winter to begin retreating.  Time for ornamental trees to take center stage with their gorgeous flowering branches.

In true Martha Stewart style, there are plenty of ways to accelerate branch blooming and enjoy the fruits of your labor inside. But I don’t happen to have any trees of the flowering variety in my own yard.  And just don’t have the huevos to snip branches away from trees that are not in my own yard.  (yes, I said huevos)

Here is a delicately wonderful example of a forsythia lloyd that Sarah from SAIPUA coaxed into blooming.  So, if you do have huevos, or blooming ornamental trees, you know what I’m talking about.

However, for the rest of us, the name of the game is improvise.

Suzanne at Meridian Road was reading my mind! Here’s her sensational improvisation.

 

Isn’t that gorgeous? 

And here are my slightly more humble improvisations.  My first attempt featured homemade paper flowers adorned with a button.  Simply glued to some twigs gathered from the back yard.

And the second version has blooms made of slender strips of fabric, gathered together to make small petal loops.

Thank you so much for reading!  Hope you have a splendid weekend 🙂

-diane

Linking to

Fabric Bows and More
Photobucket” />
Modern Country Style

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2011 10:47 pm

    Your “nature knock-offs” are exceptional! How darling!
    ~Amanda

  2. February 6, 2011 12:02 am

    Your branches are CUTE! They’re so fun to look at.
    Thanks for featuring my project. 🙂

  3. February 7, 2011 1:41 am

    You know Diane, after reading this blog for awhile now you’ve got me very inspired to start doing stuff like this!

    I adore your branches and the homemade paper flowers with the buttons – they are sooooooooo dang cute and cheerful!

    And I really like Suzanne’s because they look very Japanese, and I love all things with that touch of Asia!

    Brava to all your highlights here! They’re lovely!

    Hope you had a super weekend!

    X to you and C!

  4. February 7, 2011 8:42 pm

    Love yours! That first inspiration photo you shared is so beautifully simple…I love the ribbons and paper you used though, so creative, as ALWAYS, lady!

  5. February 7, 2011 10:48 pm

    I guest we both have flower making on our minds. Just post my effort here http://angsandy.blogspot.com/2011/02/best-creation-blog-hop.html
    Loving your fabric scrap flowers, going to try making a bunch of them.

  6. February 8, 2011 11:26 am

    Great pics and I love the homemade flowers….the scrappy ones are my favs!

  7. February 9, 2011 3:32 am

    What great photos and crafts for someone just longing for Spring to come, to do. It would definitely bring a breath of Spring inside. Tomorrow I am linking to an English Garden party, come over and check it out.
    Thanks so much for visiting and leaving a sweet comment.
    Hugs, Cindy

  8. February 9, 2011 1:02 pm

    Thanks for your sweet comments 🙂 I’ll check out that linky party you mentioned…
    Love these blooming branches, may have to try some myself. Take care, Laurel

  9. February 9, 2011 4:47 pm

    Stunning displays. Loving the paper ones. May have to copy!

  10. February 9, 2011 5:32 pm

    I love all your blooms especially the handmade ones. Hopefully we’ll all be thawing out soon and we’ll be seeing more of the little buds around.

  11. February 10, 2011 5:59 am

    So nice to ‘meet’ you from Sarah’s Garden Party! I love your paper blooms – adorable and they’ll never wilt 🙂

  12. February 10, 2011 11:13 am

    I have some forsythia in our garden. I might try and bring it in because I have heard it’s possible to coax it into bloom like this. I love your flowers on the branches. Too cute!!

    Sarahx

  13. February 16, 2011 9:01 pm

    I can’t believe I missed all these post. I thought I was signed up for email notification. I think I am now. This is so cute with the paper flowers and bows you are so clever!!

Leave a Reply

