Skip to content

valentine prototype

January 29, 2011
by

My first attempt at a homemade valentine didn’t quite give me the finished product I had been hoping for.  I haven’t given up, but there is little hope they will come together before this Valentine’s Day. 

Plan B.  Morphing several ideas and leveraging the lovely and simple woven swedish heart.

I probably would have used school-tablet paper if I had some on hand, depending on the thickness.  However, I happen to like the graph paper because Cristy bought the tablet for me and I use it constantly as a working idea sketch book.

It’s not perfect, but I think that’s the point.  Love is humble.  Always a work in progress.  It is the purest and best part of ourselves if we strip away all the noise and nonsense.  That’s sort of what these hearts look like.

So I’ve decided to go with this design for the valentines I will be making for my family members and customize the hand-drawn messages accordingly.

Happy weekend! and thanks so much for stopping by.  I very much appreciate your visit.

🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 11:26 pm

    Oh Diane, these are soooooooooo darn CUTE!!! The colors are so cheerful and happy! I love pink!

    And I absolutely adore your idea of using the graph paper, how original!

    “Love is humble. Always a work in progress. It is the purest and best part of ourselves if we strip away all the noise and nonsense.”

    Beautifully said!

    X to you and C!

  2. January 30, 2011 11:12 pm

    That is so sweet! I’m trying for figure out how you made it just by looking at the pictures.

  3. January 31, 2011 11:28 pm

    I love the graph paper! Very cute!

  4. February 1, 2011 7:59 am

    those are adorable! i’m sure holidays are awesome being in your circle, ha! handmade goodness galore!

  5. February 3, 2011 7:52 pm

    These are great! I love that you used the graph paper!
    ~Amanda

Leave a Reply

