Skip to content

paper love

January 23, 2011

Next week our development services VP is retiring. Ever the organization to leap at the opportunity to celebrate something, we have been aflurry with activity. We collectively made a scrapbook, assembled an amazing video farewell card, had a retirement toast/roast, and next week, her final week, will be a week-long festival of food and goodies.

Again, a collective effort, I was recruited to participate by contributing some festive decorations and food. This is what I came up with. Not what I had envisioned initially, but it’s paper and my current love affair with all things paper seems to know no limits.

 

Paper beads and folded paper rounds, tied together with lengths of cotton string.

My current favorite paper sources are annual reports. The paper thickness and finish is excellent.

Next, I selected a pennant garland and used the collage method I love so well to make each triangle look like a tiny work of art.

Alternated with paper beads.  Of course.

And then, I dropped by the office today to hang them all together.

happy weekend 🙂

Linking to

Be Colorful

Delightful Order

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 2:58 am

    *thunderous applause*

    LOVE them BOTH, Diane! And it’s so great to see your faaabulous paper beads mixed with the folded paper rounds and triangles.

    “to make each triangle look like a tiny work of art.”

    And they DO look like a work of art!

    Your VP is gonna ADORE these, Diane!

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    X to you and C!

    • January 24, 2011 2:01 pm

      Thank you Ron. I always appreciate your enthusiastic support. This little project was fun to make, particularly because I made use of the financial charts and diagrams in the back of the annual report – reflecting what I do for a living – making pretty charts and diagrams! Hope you have a great week ahead 🙂 sending love.

  2. January 24, 2011 12:43 am

    That is very festive! So unique, and so fun. I think it’s all art.
    And I think it’s funny you use annual reports. From boring to fun.

    • January 24, 2011 2:05 pm

      Hi Suzanne. Thank you. I know, I’m all about being a paper scavenger and have tried using all sorts of paper. I also like to use the thick covers from catalogues. The individual pages are generally too thin to be really useful, but the covers are great. Hope you have a wonderful week 🙂

  3. January 25, 2011 11:04 am

    Thank you so much for your sweet comment. This Paper project totally rocks I love this. and are you getting my replies through your Email if not, do you have an Email address.? Hugs Anne

  4. March 27, 2011 8:08 pm

    I have never seen anything like this. Totally cool. Thanks so much for sharing on Motivated Monday at BeColorful. Paper projects are so fun.
    Pam

Leave a Reply

