Skip to content

biscuit or cornkit

January 19, 2011
by

Arriving in Denton, TX last Saturday on our little road trip, we caught a glimpse of the local Morrison Corn Kit factory, apparently a notable industrial landmark in the north Texas vicinity.

And I had to wonder:  just what the dickens is a corn kit?  OK, I get that it’s a cornbread muffin ready-to-bake mix, but why is it called a kit and not just corn bread muffin mix? 

After pondering for two days, my better half spelled it out for me.  Language morph from biscuit (biskit) to cornkit.  It’s supposed to be clever.

Oh.  I see.  It’s actually sort of funny now.  Makes me smile.  Not that I’ll be purchasing any of this fine merchandise, but I like it nonetheless.

So, the question of the day is, do you prefer a corn kit or corn bread from scratch?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 2:05 am

    Okay, first I gotta say….I love the photo of the Morrison Corn Kit factory, Diane!

    VERY cool shot!

    Second, I gott say…..I looooooove corn bread! While in Florida, I knew a couple who were originally from Georgia, and they would sometimes invite me over for a traditional southern meal on Sunday nights. And my favorite part of the meal was the hot fresh-made corn bread! OMG….TO. DIE. FOR.!

    So, yes…I prefer corn bread from scratch, however with my ZERO culinary skills, I would most likely go for the corn kit!

    X to you and C!

Leave a Reply

