Skip to content

more things i love – the nautical edition

January 18, 2011

These whimsically painted oars look like summer to me.  I think I have seen this photograph before, but it originated from Michael at Inspired by Charm, whose blog is both charming AND inspiring.

Another look at the summer camp feeling of boat oars from Amy of Tulip and Turnip.  She did a great job of turning these two old oars into something clever and colorful for her son’s room.

 

How about making it personal, like Karla from It’s the Little Things?  This oar is emblazoned with a message.  Anyone could borrow Karla’s idea and upcycle a found object into a meaningful artform placed lovingly into a nook of your home.

It’s not even Groundhog Day and I’m already counting down the remaining days of winter….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 10:16 pm

    Those are fun! I need to start looking for some oars, I think.

    I just found Micheal’s blog and I love it!

  2. January 19, 2011 12:25 am

    Oh, what creative people you always share on your blog, Diane!

    I mean what a ingenious idea of making ART from an oar!

    All of these are faaaabulous!

    X

  3. January 19, 2011 1:59 am

    These are wonderful and so unique. Love all the colors and the possibilities.
    Glad you like my repurposed ornaments and cameras. The cameras I used were inexpensive and had no sentimental value, I think I’d have a hard time with that. You’ll probably come across one just waiting to be repurposed.
    Hugs

  4. January 19, 2011 2:47 am

    Thank you, thank you for including my oars here! What a fun project that was. His room is almost finished…I can’t wait to share pics of the “summer camp” inspired room!

  5. January 19, 2011 4:20 pm

    love this inspiration! that first image is so inspiring…i’ve never really been into the nautical stuff, feel like it would be a bit out of character since i’m not too keen on boating/swimming/yadda yadda…but these are totally beautiful!

  6. January 20, 2011 1:43 pm

    I love a bit of oar action. The ones you’ve picked out are lovely.

    I really enjoy getting your posts delivered directly to my in-box! You blog aboout such a cool mix of stuff.

    Sarahx

Leave a Reply

