Skip to content

paperback disguise

January 4, 2011
by

When I sold my old house, my exceptionally talented realtor rearranged a lot of the furniture.  She placed the china hutch in the bedroom, much to my surprise, then set me to refashion it with a mixture of books, antique candlesticks and china.  I was pleasantly surprised at the result and decided to keep this unexpected look in the new house.

However, the only books that fit into those narrow shelves were my well-worn paperbacks.  They didn’t exactly look that great. 

So I just covered them.  Like schoolbooks, but prettier.  Brown paper with a decorative paper stripe down the spine.

What could be easier?

Thank you so much for dropping by!

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 2:31 am

    OK, that is cool! I’ve seen plain brown paper covers, plain white paper covers, and scrapbook paper covers, but I’ve never seen brown paper with the scrapbook paper before. It really does class them up, doesn’t it?

    Hmm. What can I cover?

  2. January 5, 2011 6:02 am

    such a cute idea! looks amazing. you could really rock some graphic wallpaper or wrapping paper too! looks lovely, diane.

  3. January 5, 2011 4:37 pm

    What a clever idea. I love the added color, of course, and the continuity that the books add to the display. Very pretty.

    Thank you so much for reading and always being so supportive in your comments at hill country house. Hope you are off to a great new year! Ann

  4. January 5, 2011 4:40 pm

    What a brilliant and clever idea, Diane!

    Your creativity is ENDLESS!

    Love the chine hutch too! So cozy and warm-looking!

    You’re home is so lovely!

    Have a great day, my friend!

    X to you and C!

  5. January 6, 2011 11:09 am

    I can’t believe your realtor told you where to put your furniture!! It does look really great there though….I love the way you’ve used the books as accessories, particularly with their beautiful covers!

    Sarahx

  6. January 6, 2011 7:35 pm

    love love love it~

    the one thing i love more than books, is decorative paper. a match made in heaven!

    hope you are having a blessed start to the new year =)

  7. January 7, 2011 8:24 pm

    That’s a great idea! I’ve been working on filling up a bookshelf and I decided on only hardcover without the covers, but I’m realizing how few books I have that aren’t paper back! Maybe I need to try this instead…thanks!

  8. January 18, 2011 8:16 am

    Beautifully done! I love the way the old paperbacks got a new, fresh, modern and yet whimsical look from your choice of papers! Thank you so much for sharing your creativity at “A Little Birdie Told Me…” Tuesday at Rook No. 17!

Trackbacks

  1. things i love – bits of paper « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

