Skip to content

ten favorite diy projects of 2010

December 29, 2010
by

When I started listing projects I had completed in 2010, I was surprised when my list easily surpassed the number I was striving for:  ten.  Apparently it’s been a busy year and not all the projects have made it into the blog quite yet.

But here goes, in no particular order.

1. Replacing every stinking doorknob in the house.  Oh yes.  Goodbye shiny yellow knobs of yesteryear, hello pretty oiled bronze patina.

my fabulous online source for an affordable doorknob.

Thank you Cristy for taking on the difficult ones – all the knobs with deadbolts, internal locking mechanisms and alignment problems.  I did the easy ones.

2. Cane-back chair and slipcover for the parlor.  It was late on a Friday night and I wanted to buy a chair from a seller on Craigslist.  What was I thinking?  Cristy came with me to the dimly-lit storage warehouse in a (cough) transitional neighborhood and we waited for the seller.  They had a storage unit full of furniture and didn’t seem too awfully familiar with the contents.  The chair definitely has some imperfections, but I loved the cane back and I figured I could make a slipcover.  So I did.

3.  Beaded twine-garland enhancers for the mirrors.  Shortly after we moved, we purchased a very large mirror for our very large dining room.  Getting it delivered and hanging it on the wall turned into a lengthy drama of epic proportions.  Eventually it was in place and I adorned it and another anique mirror with a pretty beaded garland made from twine and bits of old jewelry.

 

4. Antique panel and batiks. We purchased this interesting panel from a vendor at the Round Top antiques market last spring without much of a plan for its use.  Later we decided on a possible use, but the dimensions were wrong.  So, after much considerate thought, we chose to hang it in the living room surrounded with interesting batiks.  A total DIY project.

5. Mixed-use jars.  Last spring I started using jars for everything.  Window ledge gardening, tree-hanging candeliers, vases, tea-light votive holders.  And using jars in our everyday home still looks as fresh as ever.

6. Craft closet.  Last spring, I officially adopted one of the spare rooms as my own crafting headquarters and since then, storing supplies and work-in-progress has become more and more troublesome.  Thanks to my brilliant Cristybella’s in-store consultation at the Container Store, I was able to convert an unused hall closet into a functionally fabulous craft closet!

7. Seaglass adorned branches.  I know this little project has already appeared on the blog, but it’s still among my favorites.

8.  Trio of antique lanterns.  Another (I think) re-broadcast.  Making this interior chandelier was none too difficult.  We both loved the rusty french lanterns we spotted in Warrenton.

9. Layering pendants over a mirror.  Inspired by a colorful painting Cristy found, hearts were the central theme of our wedding decorating motif.  Adding interest to a large antique mirror propped on the mantel, we adorned it with dozens of heart-shaped pendants for the occasion.

Later, we relocated the mirror and used a variety of wristwatches and other pendants to add interest to the large piece.

10.  The photo gallery nook.  This nook is a tiny vestibule between the living room and bedroom with a 3-sided corner.  I’ve added photos on just two of the sides (so far).

In a year rapidly approaching the final hours, it seems we can all take a moment to glance back and congratulate ourselves on those things we were able to accomplish.  Perfect or not,   Often times, the act of creating offers its own reward.

Best wishes to everyone (myself included) on the projects yet to come in 2011.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 9:14 pm

    I am in love with Ball jars too! I just bought some with a project in mind, but who knows if I’ll ever get around to it.

    Hello from Rhoda’s link party! 🙂

  2. December 29, 2010 11:06 pm

    I love the mason jars- super cute-

    sandy toe

  3. December 30, 2010 1:20 am

    OH. MY. GOD. all of these are soooooooo INCREDIBLE!!!!

    Some I’ve seen, others I have not.

    The beaded twine-garland is faaabulous!

    And your use of wristwatches and pendants over the mirror is so brilliant I could scream – WOW!!

    The photo of the rose filled mason jar is stunning. Simply stunning!

    Congratulations on a year of spectacular projects! I can’t wait to see what 2011 brings to your creative genius!

    X to you and C!

  4. December 30, 2010 4:12 am

    everything looks beautiful, diane! i love the photo gallery nook and the sea-glass branches best…but they all look absolutely beautiful and creative! congrats to your home-made accomplishments, looking forward to 2011!

  5. December 30, 2010 5:13 pm

    You have some really fun projects~I love that chair you slipcovered. And thanks for the link for the door knobs. I still have way too many shiny faux brass one’s here.

  6. December 30, 2010 6:45 pm

    You did a great job all year. My favorite is your photo corner nook. Lovely! Happy New Year!

  7. December 30, 2010 8:53 pm

    So many fun and creative ideas!! I love the rose photo above. Sometimes the simplest things are the most beautiful. Happy new year!

    Amy

  8. December 31, 2010 3:17 am

    I am enjoying your blog so much. I love how you transformed the card into stationery. I have done this, but never added the finishing touch as you did – very pretty. I also like your trio of lanterns and the canning jars.

    My best -Diane

Leave a Reply

