Skip to content

artist spotlight – E Moises Diaz

December 9, 2010
by

I can never make up my mind.  I was going to make all the gift recipients on my list something home made this year, but then I started thinking that perhaps some of those fine individuals might actually prefer something a little less, well, home made.  So I then decided to frame some personal photographs as gifts.  And I made 2 online purchases – a bundle of pre-cut paper mats and some frames.

The frames arrived Tuesday now I’m anxiously awaiting the mats.

Yesterday evening, the UPS truck pulled up outside and I saw the driver carrying a large box to the front door.  I excitedly brought it indoors so I could start working on the final steps in preparing some of these photographic gifts.  But when I opened the end of the box and pulled away the first layer of bubble wrap, I did not see the bundle of paper mats I was expecting.  No.  There was a mistake.

It was my mistake.  The box was not even addressed to me.  I hadn’t bothered to check.  I hadn’t considered that any other person living at this address might be expecting mail.  Well, you know, I was expecting mail. 

So I called Cristy and ‘fessed up.  She was a lot madder than I thought she would be.  A lot.  I didn’t think it was that big of a deal.  I was beginning to think maybe I should have just taped up the box and not mentioned it at all.  Then she tells me that was supposed to be my Christmas gift.

Oops.

Later, when she was smiling again, she pretty much insisted that I open it.  And it is a beautiful work of art by an inspired artist named Edgar Moises Diaz from Austin, TX.  He makes some very impressive creations in metal and I’m so taken with his artistic brilliance, that I’m sharing a few images from his portfolio here.

So Santa dear, I’m sorry that I was such a naughty girl this year, but thanks for your forgiveness!  I’ll check the address label before I open mail in the future.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 2:12 am

    Oooops!

    But hey, I have to be honest with you Diane, I would have done the same thing. Especially if I had been expecting a package in the mail. Like you, I would have been so excited when it arrived, I wouldn’t have even noticed who it was addressed to.

    They’re absolutely STUNNING!

    Love the minimal color and the use of metal. How original!

    Anyway, I’m so glad ‘Santa’ has forgiven you! It was an innocent mistake, you naughty girl – HA!

    X to you and Santa!

  2. December 23, 2010 11:49 pm

    Thank you for your kind words regarding my work. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our piece and that everything is all good there at home. Good luck on your creative endeavors.

Trackbacks

  1. santa’s elves « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

