Skip to content

faux popcorn garland

December 5, 2010

Last year as I opened the first boxes of holiday decorations, I ran across a remnant from a spool of clothesline. Some sort of slender nylon rope. And for reasons unknown to me, I began to tie little overhand knots in it at 1-to-2 inch intervals. Took about 20 minutes. It occurred to me along the way that it resembled a popcorn garland, so onto the tree it went.

When I was a little girl, I remember my mom and dad with needle and thread making yards and yards of popcorn garland for our tree.

There might have been an argument or two involved with that bit of shared craftiness.

This is so much simpler.

And for another completely delicious popcorn creation, head on over to see what Suzanne’s making at Meridian Road.

Linking to–

Photobucket

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2010 9:45 pm

    What a clever idea! and so cute!!! Thanks for your comments.

  2. December 6, 2010 3:28 am

    LOVE these close up shots of your tree and ornaments. Very charming!!

    • December 8, 2010 5:34 pm

      Thank you Ann, I so enjoyed the photos of your precious feather tree too with the mixture of treasures adorning it. Makes me smile.

  3. December 6, 2010 2:35 pm

    Really clever idea!! Nice job!

  4. December 6, 2010 5:56 pm

    “It occurred to me along the way that it resembled a popcorn garland, so onto the tree it went.”

    And that’s exactly what it looks like….popcorn garland!

    When I was a kid, I wanted to try stringing popcorn for garland, but my family never did – bummer!

    Anyway….love your idea! The whole tree looks great!

    X

    • December 8, 2010 5:32 pm

      I made a soft allusion in this post to arguments between my mom and dad over this popcorn garland, but they were fierce! The worst thing is that it took so much time and effort to string the popcorn and my parents were so frugal, that they saved it and reused it for several more years until it disintegrated. So imagine trying to remove that strand of threaded popcorn from the tree without tangling it all up and then storing it in a safe, dry place for a year before getting it out again. Yes, there were arguments. Not something anyone would want to try at home.

Leave a Reply

