Skip to content

button star – Christmas tree topper

November 30, 2010

After indulging in adding another Christmas tree to the in-home forest, I started working on making pretty little decorations nearly nonstop.  By Thanksgiving, the tree was substantially complete.  Except for something special to adorn the top.  I didn’t want to purchase anything because Christmas tree decorations, especially the one at the very top, is a matter of extreme sentimentality.

So I had to make it.  In my personal system of beliefs, the adornment at the top needs to be the most humble thing on the tree.

I’ve been mulling the idea over in my head since Thanksgiving and wanted to create something  in harmony with the rest of the home made decorations, specifically the button garland.

And the answer?  A button star, of course.

 

I started with a long strand of wire and bent it into a general star shape, twisted the two ends together and wrapped the wires with strands of white cotton muslin.  This holds the shape and offers a foundation for sewing the buttons.  Then I sewed the buttons around the star border and added more buttons in the middle, wrapped on narrow strands of ribbon and rafia.

 

I do declare, it just warms my heart.  Thank you for reading!

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 3:44 pm

    “I do declare, it just warms my heart.”

    Yup…and mine too, Diane!

    It’s such a warm, cozy, and sweet star!

    Reminds me of the movie, “Little Women.”

    Have a wonderful day, my friend!

    X to you and C!

  2. November 30, 2010 5:30 pm

    that’s a great idea.

    truth be told, i’m so OVER the angels. i think they are kinda tacky =/

  3. November 30, 2010 10:57 pm

    That’s a cute star~I just bought a bunch of old buttons, so I might have to steal this idea!

  4. December 1, 2010 10:49 pm

    This is so great! I love DIY holiday decor…. and I have a ton of buttons.

  5. December 6, 2010 11:04 pm

    I agree its adorable

  6. December 9, 2010 2:36 am

    THANK YOU so much for participating in **6 weeks 2 JINGLE** I really enjoyed this tree topper. It’s refeshingly simpple, yet totally fun, and full of life. I like it.

    I don’t think you’ve entered my giveaway right? Girl you should def go, you get extra entries just for participating in my parties. Why not go see if you can win the jackpot, SEVEN awesome gifts, woo hoo. Hope you come enter, and of course keep the projects coming, I adore them.

    Bella🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas button garland « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

