Skip to content

paper tree ornaments – collaged shapes

November 18, 2010
by

In the spirit of a Christmas tree largely decorated with homemade things, I’m attempting to keep it simple and interesting by selecting shapes I particularly like, and most of all, using things that are already right here.  Paper, fabric, buttons, ribbon.

I started by cutting my basic shape from a heavy paper shopping bag.  My favorites are the chubby stars, plump hearts and the pointy oval.  What is that called anyway?

Then I just glued strips of printed paper to both sides and trimmed back to the original shape.  For this particular heart, I used pieces of fabric rather than paper, keeping the frayed edges visible and hung a small button at the bottom.  Sorry for the crummy photo.

I’m fairly indiscriminate when it comes to paper sources.  Recycled greeting cards, wrapping paper, origami paper, good quality catalogues.  The interest is in the contrast.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 3:40 pm

    Lovely ornaments, Diane!

    “and most of all, using things that are already right here. Paper, fabric, buttons, ribbon.”

    I agree! There is something so homey, cozy, and warm about that! It reminds me of the Christmas scenes in the movie, “Little Women.”

    LOVE that movie!

    Have a great day!

    X

  2. November 19, 2010 3:01 pm

    i love the plump heart with a little jeans fabric on it! 🙂

    • November 19, 2010 3:41 pm

      Thanks so much Tyka. That’s the only heart I’ve made so far. I’ve been filling up the tree with collage stars and those pointy oval shapes. My plan for the hearts was to make them with ransom note style lettering. I didn’t photograph the reverse side of that heart, but I will publish some photos of the ransom note message hearts soon. Thanks for your sweet comment!!

Leave a Reply

