Skip to content

string wrapped wreath

November 15, 2010

I caved.  Purchased another Christmas tree this past weekend.  After weeks of internal debate.  Sam’s had a fabulous price on a 9′ tree and I was extremely satisfied with my purchase from them on a similar product last year. 

But I waited too long and as of last weekend, their online inventory of Christmas trees had dwindled to only 2 or 3 products.  Walmart was my next option.  Price was nearly as good, but the quality is poorer. 

The next challenge will be to decorate this extra large tree while not consuming all of my pretty baubles, since there are 3 other trees yet to be installed…

But in the meantime, I did make an attempt at a wreath after seeing yet another example of a pretty yarn-wrapped wreath last week. 

I used string rather than yarn, and in truth, there is not much of a color contrast between the string and the ribbon embellishment.  But, I simply used the ribbon I had on hand.

I used a wreath I had purchased at Lowes last year, thinking it would be perfectly fine.  But it wasn’t.  It was one of those gold tinsel wreaths.  Beneath it is a wire frame, not a round wreath form.  I wrapped the tinsel with white cotton fabric before getting started with the string, just to provide some shape uniformity.

The scale of this wreath is more suited to an outside facing door, but my product selections are more suited for an indoor wreath.

It really does look OK, and my only investment was 3 whole spools of string plus the ribbon from the $1 table at JoAnn’s.  Oh, and last year’s wreath.

Linking to

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 11:33 pm

    *singing*

    “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas….every where you go…..”

    OMG…the wreath is FANTABULOUS, Diane! I love the while cotton fabric you wrapped it in, prior to adding the poke-a-dot ribbon! How simplistically festive!

    And congrats on finding a tree! Can’t wait to see how you decorate it!

    X to you and C!

    • November 16, 2010 9:04 pm

      Thank you Ron ~~it is a huge step forward from the big gold mess I had hanging on the door last year 🙂 Still a little underwhelming for my taste, but I’m putting all my energy into TREE decorating!! 9-foot tree, 7.5-foot tree and 6-ft tree. I’m like you, I love Christmas decorations and all the sparkly glittery shimmery prettiness that goes along with it. xoxo & enjoy your week!!

  2. December 10, 2010 8:48 pm

    The white abric looks all ruched (is that how you spell ‘rooshed?!!’) and perfect. I can’t believe you just added it on to cover the tinsel!!

    It looks LOVELY!

    Sarahx

Leave a Reply

