Skip to content

on the drawing board

October 27, 2010
by

Last month we had a little birthday brunch at our house for Cristy’s sister and since one of my duties is usually to set the table, I added an origami-folded butterfly to each setting as a place card.  Don’t be too impressed, I already had some origami butterflies folded, stashed away in a cupboard.  But it was a nice touch and made the birthday girl feel special.

Now Thanksgiving will be at our home this year and the addition of a place card is such a genteel touch, but I didn’t want to get all fussy about it.  So I’ve been thinking.  Just seems like a good idea to have fun with the classical notion of the old school monogram.

Prototypes–>

Made with leftover cardstock, wrapping paper and heavy magazine stock.  I particularly like the letters cut from the printed paper.

My initial idea was to spell out everyone’s name on a card by using letters cut randomly from junk mail and assembled ransom-note style.  But that might be a bit over the top for Thanksgiving.  I’ll circle back on that one at another time.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 3:06 am

    These are just too, too faaabulous, girl!

    And I’m lovin’ how you used the letters cut from printed paper! How do think of this great stuff?

    Listen, can I come to your house for Thanksgiving?

    You spell my name: R-O-N

    Oh, and please make mine with the M&M background, ok?

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Hope you had a wonderful day!

    X

    • October 27, 2010 6:50 pm

      Hi Ron. I don’t know how I think of this stuff. The crazy ideas are tumbling around in my head all the time. I honestly wish I didn’t have to sleep so I could stay up all night working on my crazy little projects. But then again, sleeping is just so, well, restful.

      I would adore having you as a guest for Thanksgiving, or any time, actually. I’ll just have to make a place card in your honor. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and making me laugh as you always do.

      And I’m still thinking about old movies–musicals: Brigadoon, On The Town, High Society…

      Have a great day mi amigo.

  2. October 27, 2010 11:17 pm

    I LOVE the placecards! they’re going to be amaziiiing!

    • October 27, 2010 11:47 pm

      Thank you Lizzie. If I don’t watch myself, I’ll get carried away and start making placecards for meetings at work. (laugh)

Leave a Reply

