Skip to content

black button garland for Halloween

October 22, 2010
by

I’m not much into ghostly frightful Halloween decorations.  But on a lark, I decided to make a black button garland last night.  Sort of a trial run for a button garland I plan to make for Christmas (link to Christmas tree button garland).  Plus, Cristy left a few spare buttons out for me, and one was black, so I decided to use it.

Truth is, I made it twice.  The second time is much better.  The buttons dangle from the garland string like charms on a charm bracelet.  And I added those little wooden candy corn beads on the ends too.   

 

As much as I love my little Samsung, it just doesn’t deliver the goods the way my Nikon does.  I’d use it, but someone forgot to charge the battery.  Oh.  I guess that would be me.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 2:52 pm

    OMG….I LOVE THIS!!!

    Who would have ever thought to make garland out of buttons??? And the little candys corns are so precious! I happen to be one of those strange people who LOVES candy corn. I can eat it by the handfuls!

    You see, this is what I love about your creativity – you take simplicity, and make it into a work of art!

    So looking foward to your Christmas decorations!

    Have a super weekend, dear lady!

    X to you and Cristy

    P.S. great photos!

  2. October 22, 2010 3:24 pm

    Thank you Ron 🙂
    I get so excited about buttons and scraps of wrapping paper. Sometimes I catch myself scanning through the junk mail to see if there is anything I might be able to include in a future project…nothing yet, but I’m hopeful.

    Oh yes, I’m looking forward to Christmas decorations too and having a rigorous internal debate with myself about whether or not to get another tree.

  3. October 23, 2010 3:42 pm

    this is too cute! i don’t get that into halloweeny decor, cus i just jump straight into christmas. but this could be easily altered for any holiday..

    love your little vases with flowers!

    • October 23, 2010 8:48 pm

      Thank you bd! I’m thinking the same thing – planning to use a combination of white and colorful buttons for the Christmas garland. Just can’t talk myself into getting another tree though. But I’m trying to.

  4. October 23, 2010 7:38 pm

    That is way too cute! You are so creative! It looks great on your mantle too, for sure!

    • October 23, 2010 8:28 pm

      Thank you Lizzie. Sometimes I think I’m turning into my grandmother, the way I get all into these silly craft projects. But, that’s probably not such a bad thing. 🙂

  5. October 24, 2010 4:16 am

    Love it! Your whole mantel looks great!!

Leave a Reply

