Skip to content

couch stitching on paper

March 16, 2012

I’ve just lately added couch stitching to my humble repertoire of paper stitched goodies.  And since my new favorite crafty thing is converting an empty facial tissue box into a greeting card, it seems only logical to combine the two.

I use the bottom of the box and one of the adjacent side panels and refold it out-side-in.  Then glue white paper from a recycled envelope over the bottom panel.  This becomes the inside of the card where the message goes.  so easy (and green)!

don’t laugh. I happen to prefer this generic brand of tissue.

Nat, author of the smallest forest, is wonderfully talented and this recent embroidery sampler she posted is a beautiful example of couch stitching.

image from the smallest forest

I know, right?  How gorgeous is that!

My own creations are far more humble, by comparison.  But I had to try out that pretty circular swirl for the birthday card I was making.

Perforating the paper before stitching is the key ingredient.  I perforate about 6-8 stitches at a time with a push pin, placing the design as I go.

Makes for an unexpectedly cute greeting card!  thanks for dropping in today :)

.

.

.

sharing with
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
The Inspiration Board at homework
nifty thrifty Sunday at nifty thrifty things
3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2012 7:59 pm

    Love your spiral. I have never heard of couch stitching before.

  2. March 20, 2012 3:12 am

    I didn’t know that’s what it was called! I’d like to try it, actually. And I NEVER embroider!

  3. March 22, 2012 12:25 am

    “And since my new favorite crafty thing is converting an empty facial tissue box into a greeting card, it seems only logical to combine the two.”

    You amaze me with the ways you recycle stuff, Diane!

    Who would have thought to use an empty facial tissue box; converting it into a greeting card? Brilliant, girl!

    VERY cute!

    X to you and Cristybella!

    P.S. Sorry I missed this post last Friday :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 511 other followers

