Skip to content

finial topped jars

March 1, 2012

Sifting through a box of clutter in my crafting room, I came upon a glass apothecary jar top.  I’d set the pretty lid aside a few months ago after moving the oversized jar into the living room to hold some antique treasures.

I’m wanting to set up a little sewing corner in this room, so I took an old cookie tin, added assorted spools of thread and placed the glass apothecary cover on top.  The mismatched look whisks me right back to childhood.

So then I started thinking:  why not add finial adorned tops to some of the other supply jars here in the crafting room?  But of course – fabulously easy and oh-so-crafty!

I wanted the lids to fit loosely, so they will lift off the jars easily, rather than twisting off.  So I gently flattened the inside lip of the jar lids with pliers.  presto.

Next, the fun part–selecting embellishments.  Stacks of buttons.  Brightly colored paint.  So many sparkly options!

A touch of imagination combined with a few dots of gorilla glue.

This so feeds into my obsession for hoarding jars.

Because there are sure to be more of these fun finial toppers on the way :)

Thank you for dropping by!

.

.

.

sharing with
Pinteresting Party at Tutus and Tea Parties
The Inspiration Board at homework
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
nifty thrifty Sunday at nifty thrifty things
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage
7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 4:04 am

    Diane, I wish you could see the HUGE smile on my face while looking at these precious creations you came up with.

    I’m lovin’ how you took the old cookie tin and topped it with the glass apothecary cover.

    You are soooooooooo clever, girl!

    And the colorful adorned tops on all of these jars are so dang cute!!!!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend. Well done!

    Have a great rest of your week.

    Much X to you and Cristybella!

  2. March 1, 2012 11:21 pm

    Ohhhhhh…..PRETTY!!!

    Don’t make me pick.
    And don’t make me confess my love of jars/bottles.
    I’ve cut back! Honest!

    But now that I have new ideas being tossed at me–I might haffta rethink that decision. :-/

  3. susan gillenwaters permalink
    March 3, 2012 8:13 pm

    very clever and cute – love it

  4. March 4, 2012 4:47 am

    Those are so YOU! I really love that last one.

  5. March 6, 2012 3:52 pm

    These are adorable! I’m on a jar repurposing kick- they’re fabulous for organizing little craft supplies! I never thought to flatten the rim with pliers so they lift easily- thanks for the tip. I hope you’ll stop by and link up to my party: http://www.serendipityandspice.com/2012/03/manic-monday-8.html

  6. November 24, 2012 12:38 pm

    Cute and functional! Gotta love that!

Trackbacks

  1. 20 + Resources for Getting Organized this Spring | GIF Peanut Butter

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 480 other followers

