Skip to content

the study – updated

February 16, 2012

I don’t particularly like drilling holes in the walls of the house.  Makes me all nervous.

But last weekend, that’s exactly what I did.  After procrastinating for (ahem) an entire year I took out my snowman pencil and some other tools, did a lot of complaining and made two trips to Home Depot.  But finally shelves are installed in the study.

I needed to do this after having attended to installing shelves in my own craft room recently.  Still buoyed by the success of that effort, I was counting on that confidence to propel me through this task.

Cristy doesn’t much care for the lighting, and I have to agree.  Too harsh.   Plus, we need to thoughtfully edit and place items on these shelves.  My hasty arrangement to fill in the empty space leaves something to be desired.

Just to the left of this desk is the adjacent view to the outdoor bird feeder and our recently acquired lounge chair with its temporary cushions.

We seem to make progress about an inch at a time, assembling the rooms of our house to correspond with the way we use them.  The still-to-do list for this study includes cushions for the lounge chair, a complementary companion chair and better lighting for the desk.

However, for the moment, feels darned good to cross through 1 item on the list.

I still don’t like to drill holes in the house, but I do like these shelves.  Cable bracket hardware and shelves from the Container Store.  Toggle bolts from Home Depot.

Thank you for dropping by today!

.

.

.

sharing with
SNS at Funky Junk Interiors
Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage
8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 3:18 am

    Yup–I like the shelves!
    I like how they’re hung….and I like how they’re arranged.
    AND I like drills.
    :-/

    <– has no problem putting holes in walls!

    THAT in and of itself…….LOL…..can be problematic.

  2. February 16, 2012 3:31 am

    Diane, I know you’re probably getting sick and tired of me saying this but, YOU AMAZE ME WITH YOUR CREATIVITY!

    OH. MY. GOD.!!!!!!!! These shelves are faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabulous!!!!!!

    And well worth the drilled holes!

    I also love the way you have things arranged on the shelves. What a neatly organized home you and Cristy have. You should be in Better Homes and Gardens magazine!

    Oh, and I also love your newly acquired lounge chair and cushion. That table is very cool too. And I LOVE the dog in the photo!

    Personally, I give you an A+ and 10 Gold Stars for this project!

    And two thumbs up too!

    Thanks so much for sharing, my friend. I always loved stopping by to see what goodies you have for us.

    Have a great rest of your week!

    X to you and Cristybella!

  3. February 16, 2012 3:34 am

    I love the shelves. Simple and sculptural. Nice job.

  4. February 16, 2012 11:28 am

    I love the way you’ve done it and laid it out. So clean and uncluttered- very unlike my house which is bursting at the seams from every room. I trip over something no matter where i try to walk.

  5. February 16, 2012 3:41 pm

    that is so neat looking! i love this shelving idea!

  6. February 19, 2012 2:02 am

    Yay! You did it, and they look great. Level and everything. Not like how they’d look if I put shelves up. :)

  7. February 20, 2012 8:42 am

    i really like the look of those shelves!!!

  8. February 25, 2012 3:59 pm

    The accents you have chosen make such strong statements that you can really go minimalist. Nice overall feel.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 506 other followers

