Skip to content

stitching on paper

January 8, 2012

for my mid-winter (aka valentines) crafts, I decided to borrow some textile related ideas and translate them to my favorite medium, paper.  It adds a touch of novelty to paper craftiness by incorporating hand stitching.  Plus there’s something sweetly nostalgic about a hand made valentine.

The items pictured here are not finished valentines.  They are pieces that will later become part of a finished valentine.

For my very first paper stitching project, I cut a small square from a brown paper bag, selected a button and threaded my hand needle.  No up front prep work. 

The basic loop stitch makes a pretty flower.  However, I hadn’t yet learned the technique of perforating the paper in advance.  And my second attempt was a fail that I managed to (sort of) rescue.

After that I decided to trace my designs to the back side of the paper and make perforations before stitching.  I like the look of this satin stiched heart, but I should have made long stitches both top and bottom.  My shortcut approach makes the stitching lopsided, but I still like it.

 

Cross stitching is only slightly more complex.  Draw a grid and pencil in the stitches on the reverse side of the paper, then perforate at each needle point before beginning.

Both pieces are stitched on thick hand-made paper scraps that I purchased in a bundle from an art supply store.

It is a beginning.  I’m experimenting with paper and ribbon ruffles next.

Such fun!  Thank you for visiting and hope you’re having a fabulous weekend :)

.

.

,

sharing with
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
Nifty Thrifty Sunday at nifty thrifty things
11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 5:05 pm

    I LOVE these, Diane!

    And I so enjoy reading about your process of creation. It’s fascinating.

    Love you use of buttons. Can’t wait to view the final creations

    You’ve got me all jazzed for Valentines Day!

    Have a beautiful Sunday, dear friend!

    X to you and C!

  2. January 8, 2012 5:38 pm

    Loved these ideas. You are so creative!

  3. January 8, 2012 8:32 pm

    very cool. a fun way to mix textures and media :)

  4. January 9, 2012 12:27 pm

    I just lurrrrrve all your creative ideas. You are a huuuuge clever-clogs!!!

    These are so pretty. And so many uses…. Gorgeous!

    Sarahx

  5. January 10, 2012 12:50 pm

    Someone’s in for a very special Valentine!

  6. January 10, 2012 9:33 pm

    Check out you and your craftiness! :)

  7. January 12, 2012 4:30 am

    I love the buttons and the cross stitching! I’ll bet no one throws your Valentine’s away!

  8. January 15, 2012 11:25 am

    Lovely idea, lovely pictures. I put your creation on my pinterest board!

  9. January 15, 2012 8:56 pm

    These are so creative! I love that you used buttons. I just tried stitching paper too but with a machine!

  10. January 16, 2012 3:50 am

    Beautiful! You’ve inspired me to add some stitching to my Valentines. I found you through Nifty Thrifty Things. Thanks for sharing! :0

Trackbacks

  1. lace alternative « home sweet homemade

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 509 other followers

