Skip to content

menswear inspired holiday rag wreath

December 6, 2010

Recently I saw the HGTV celebrity home decorating broadcast featuring Eddie Ross as one of the decorators.  I am a big fan of his original style and creativity.

He made the most lovely ornaments by wrapping strips of fabric cut from men’s shirts around styrofoam balls.   Aren’t they adorable?

He gathered them up and decorated a feather tree and a stairway bannister in the homeowner’s foyer.  Click to see it here.

I decided to assemble a wreath for my backyard door with a touch of Eddie Ross style.  So, I popped into the nearest thrift store and picked up 3 shirts:  a tartan plaid, a bright red windowpane plaid and a dark red candy stripe.  All very menswear, but still in merry holiday tones.

I started with a cardboard ring, the diameter of a luncheon plate.  Next cut the shirts apart at the seams and then into strips.

Tied them onto the ring.

Trimmed the ends, fluffed it up, and voila a wreath!

 

The three shirts yielded more fabric strips than I needed for this small wreath, so there will be plenty of extra material for other future projects.

Thank you for reading!

.

.

.

sharing with
Will See it Wednesday at Fabric Bows and More
The Inspiration Board at homework
19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 5:53 pm

    I just clicked over to the Eddie Ross link you left and saw his ornaments – OMG, how faaaaaabulous are they?? What an original idea!

    And I’m absolutely lovin’ the way you used the shirts to create a wreath!

    Oh, how FUN!

    Enjoying your snowfall on your blog! How cool!

    Have a wonderful day, Diane!

    X to you and C!

  2. December 7, 2010 4:33 pm

    Very gorgeous. I like your thinking!!

    I love wreaths with a difference – that’s one of the things that inspired me to do Wreath Week this week. Not just the same old thing…

    Will you come by and link up to my Wreath Party on Friday?

    I’ll save a glass of your favourite tipple for you!!

    Sarahx

  3. December 7, 2010 11:01 pm

    What a creative idea! Loving that you took a trip to the thrift store to create your own “used shirt” magic. The wreath would look great on my new front door… maybe Jaithan and I should get to work?!
    Xo,
    E&J

    • December 8, 2010 6:09 pm

      E!! Thank you for stopping by, so great to see you and thanks a million for the inspiration. Cristy and I send you and Jaithan (plus your entire team of elves) warm holiday wishes. We’re huge fans.

  4. December 8, 2010 3:41 am

    I love anything with plaid on it. This is such a great idea to reuse old shirts!

    • December 8, 2010 5:28 pm

      Thank you Katie. It was pretty quick and easy after I cut up all those shirts. When I watched that broadcast that Eddie R did for HGTV, he said that they had made all the ornaments using only 6 shirts. He’s right, a little goes a very long way. I probably have enough fabric easily for 3 more wreaths.

  5. December 8, 2010 11:44 pm

    how are you this creative?! i love this idea…we are way lazy for creative projects, but i LOVE checkin’ you out, miss thang, with your creativity that just refuses to quit. super cute project..

  6. December 9, 2010 2:27 am

    wow, this is absolutely beautiful!
    there are definitely enough material laying around to make that,
    but i doubt we can make one as pretty as ours.
    i love it!

  7. December 9, 2010 2:42 am

    This is AWESOME, did you get that, AWESOME. I totally love it, and really think I’ll be making me one, or two, he he.

    Thank you for the INCREDIBLE idea, and would you please come link this up girl, you know what to do right.

    Oh and DONT FORGET to enter my giveaway. I know you want to win those prizes right, all SEVEN of them. They are awesome!!!

    Thanks a bunch, and I am totally digging your blog.

    Bella :)

  8. December 9, 2010 2:43 am

    Subscribing right now, lol.

  9. Clair permalink
    December 9, 2010 2:57 am

    Diane, how long did you make your stripes? I love your wreath. I have few sheets I could use. thanks for all your inspirations. In the middle of the starry night I lay awake because my brain is just twirling with emotions of the holiday spirit and the projects in my imaginations future. Merry Christmas

    • December 9, 2010 4:51 pm

      Hi Clair – is this you? What a lovely surprise! I know what you mean. Almost every evening I work on some little project that always leads to another one. Never enough time. You should totally guest post one of your projects here (if you’re interested), I’d love to see what you’re making!

      For this wreath, I used a narrow cardboard form. I took 2 dishes out of my pantry and drew circles onto the piece of cardboard, one inside the other. One was a large luncheon plate and the other was actually a cereal bowl. The cardboard ring is only about 2 inches wide, so the cloth strips are not that long. I cut them about 7″ or longer and then trimmed the ends down so they didn’t droop.

      Wishing you a Merry Christmas too! xoxo

  10. November 23, 2011 1:05 pm

    I love this meswear inspired holiday goodness. I have a weekly linky party called Upcycled Awesome (and Everything Else) and I would love it if you would link this Upcycled Wreath http://tinyurl.com/upcycled1

  11. November 27, 2011 2:04 pm

    Like………

Trackbacks

  1. string wrapped wreath revision « home sweet homemade
  2. 2 easy tree garlands « home sweet homemade
  3. 14 Creative Christmas Wreath Ideas - Milky Mug
  4. Beautiful DIY Christmas Wreath Tutorials | College Millionaires
  5. Beautiful DIY Christmas Wreath Tutorials | Best Ways

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 508 other followers

